Avocado and Banana smoothie for breakfast or post-workout

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

A few days ago I had some skim yoghurt almost going bad, so I decided to go ahead and use it to make a smoothie.

After I was done smashing everything remotely tasty in it and finished the smoothie I realised I had to write down the recipe. After I did that I went ahead and checked the nutriotion values in order to see how healthy it was.

The ingredients for 2 smoothies:

  • 400 ml skim yoghurt
  • 1 banana
  • 2 avocados (approximately 200gr)
  • 50 grams of walnuts
  • 60 grams of vanilla whey protein (protein powder)
  • cinnamon (add on feeling)

The nutrition values per smoothie:

Calories: 672
Carbs: 54,3 grams
Fat: 40,5 grams
Protein: 38,2 grams

This shake is a great way to start the day, but it could be eaten at lunch. I say eaten, because it turned out a bit thicker than I imagined, you might try using (skim) milk instead of yoghurt. If you do, please be sure to let me know how it turned out.

Some might say that this smoothie contains too much fat or carbs. Carbs are really good to energize yourself, that's why I recommend you have this for breakfast or after your workout. And fat is not the enemy, you can find a lot more about that subject, just be sure to be picky about what kind of fat you eat. Avocados and (wal)nuts are a great source of unsaturated fats.

I know not everybody uses protein powders, so this recipe is for those who do. If there are others wanting some recipes for healthy food (or some good party snacks), I am more than willing to share them. I really love food and sharing it, so let me know!

By the way, the picture is not of the smoothie I made, I already ate it all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66