Saguaro Fruit Nourishment

in #food4 years ago (edited)


I am beyond excited for the beginning of the saguaro fruit season! I am very lucky to live in a saguaro forest, so I don’t have to go too far to get it. During this time I am weaving into my daily practice picking some fruit first thing in the morning. It is one of the most delicious fruits on this planet! In the hottest and driest time of the year we are getting so deeply nourished by this land... it blows my mind!

9D852E7F-AC5F-4584-9141-DFFAC685E587.jpeg

Surprisingly, a lot of locals never tasted it!! Actually, it is illegal to pick it in a lot of places! All perfection after all!;)
I like eating fresh fruit straight or adding it to different things. I am always collecting juice from it, keeping it in a colander with a very fine mesh over a bowl in a fridge.
I am usually freezing the fruit that had chance to open up more fully, and getting baked and crunchy by the Sun. This way I can nourish myself with it at least for the entire Summer. You can also dehydrate it, or even making a vine out of it! I’ve never tried with vine, but the saguaro fruit juice is heavenly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94