Sustainable Snacking - The Thai Street Food We Can Never Say No To!

in #food6 years ago

Snacking. Some zealous purists claim they never do it. How very sad! To be able to simply pause for no reason and pop a pleasure-explosion into your mouth?? Something which delights, sustains and nourishes? Life is all the richer for wonderful snacking. And yet soooo much of the convenient snack food isn't sustainable. Au contraire. It's chemical laden, factory produced, palm oil fried, GMO and plastic packed, along with its various preservatives, flavours and miscellaneous chemicals.

And so here I am in Thailand. 'All that street food!', our visitors gasp. Surely you eat & snack out all the time? Actually, no, we don't. Because a LOT of street food is deep fried in dodgy re-used GMO, palm or soy cooking oils, which we avoid like the plague. Or stored-cooked in such a way as to regularly give mild doses of food poisoning. I love to cook and I love to eat healthy, so I'm very choosy about where we eat. And that means our street food snack options are a lot less than most Thai visitors first imagine. There are some awesome sustainable street-fast-food options though, and one we ALMOST NEVER pass up. :)

MangoStickyRice1.jpg

Last night she saw me before I saw her. She knows a good regular customer when she sees one.

"Aow mai?" (Do you want?)
"Aow! Luuk saow chop maak. Song tii, noi kha." (Want! My daughter really likes. Two servings, please.")

And so by the time I came out of the pharmacy by Tapae Gate (yes - doing my Pure Thai Naturals product deliveries yet again, after the evening school pick up) it was ready.

Locally grown sticky rice, from her cousin's farm. Steamed northern Thai style with coconut milk and pandanus leaf, which gives it an amazing flavour and aroma. And the blue rice? She adds Anchan flowers - the blue butterfly pea. And fresh local mango. Of course. With the rich fragrant coconut milk sauce over the top, and sprinkled with some crunchy mung bean kernels. Amazing.

MangoStickyRice2.jpg

The mangoes are EVERYWHERE at the moment, and the anchan flowers too. Botanically Anchan is named Clitoria ternatea and yes, named for it beautiful likeness to a woman's magical place. It is prolific, here in Chiang Mai. In fact, after the heavy rain last night, I have a whole new batch of anchan flowers this morning at the back of my kitchen-herbal garden:

MangoStickyRice3.jpg

Thai people will rave to you about the value of anchan flowers for beautiful hair and that is PARTLY TRUE. Specifically for black, Thai hair. It definitely is NOT an option for blondes. Haha, but another story!

Anchan flowers ARE well known for their rich antioxidants and their anti-inflammatory properties. Like so many blue foods, they are incredibly rich in trace nutrients and are completely edible. I like adorning my rocket-tomato-fetta salads with them, too.

And so in the course of our dinner-might-be-late-again snack, we supported our local farmers and our entrepreneurial street vendor. We ate it off the banana leaf and made a tiny crusade against big corporations taking over our world. We added some herbal magic to our tired bodies after a long day. But mostly, we added a simple, enjoyable pleasure that made it good to be alive.

I love it when great choices WORK on so many levels.

Sustainable snacking matters, cos we actually mostly all snack far more than we admit to. :) And why not? Life is for the Living.

Happy sustainable snacking! :)

@ecoTrain

Eco-Green-Sustainable content on Steemit

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain
DRIVER
@eco-alex
CONDUCTOR
@hopehuggs
VIP'S WHO HAVE DELEGATED STEEM POWER
@omdemian
@kalima
PASSENGERS
@artemislives
@celestialcow
@clara-andriessen
@ecoinstant
@hopehuggs
@kiaraantonoviche
@likedeeler
@misslasvegas
@mountainjewel
@sagescrub
@sashagenji
@schoonercreek
@sharoonyasir
@solarsupermama
@stillgideon
@stillwatersar
@stortebeker
@thegreens
@trucklife-family
@zpedro
If you are new to Steemit, love to write, and would like to join the ecoTrain community as an official passenger, please email to [email protected]

Sort:  

I wish there was a safe way to get some seeds for those blue flowers here in America. Everything looks so delicious. Blue rice?! Are you kidding me?! I'm so hungry now.

I am the archetypal seed saver!! Message me privately through the discord with a postal address and I shall see what Uncle Sam's snail mail will allow in. :)

Congratulations @artemislives! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

What is the ecotrain???
I'm not super new to Steemit and I love to write, but not all my posts are long texts. I'm a vegan (since long - is that a veteranvegan?) and I'm interested in the sustainable life around it, but it's not a main subject in my posts. Am I still fit in?

@ecotrain is a curation group where members commit to a certain number of posts and also support each other. Email to @eco-alex as per the email address at the bottom of my post and he will tell you more. It IS a big commitment (x5 ecotrain posts per week) but I am finding the content and members inspiring, and the discipline to post helpful in making my steem world more successful. Perhaps go and look at the last @ecoTrain weekly magazine to see the diversity of content and members first??

thanks for explaining this.. also just to mention you dont have to post 5x a week! that is actually a maximum.. there is no minimum ;-)

Oh that's good @eco-alex ! thank for the clarification! :) But posting often is super important at getting a great following, I am discovering. If the content is solid, that is. :) So I'm gonna ignore this and remain deluded so I keep my focus. :) :)

lol.. that is great also.. esp if you post great content! <3

I think I am going to add this link to my post footer. :)

yes GREAT idea.. i should do the same really! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47