Sort:  

I would like to read about that! How did you like it?

I know about chewing spruce gum, but not pine tar gum. There is so much to learn about what our wild plants have to offer! You grandfather knew something good!

All I remember is I think he would drop little balls into water, geez I wish I'd pay attention! It was good but it stuck to our teeth haha

He'd also make needle tea for us, he'd pour hot water over young pine needles Andrew them steep. Then he'd strain it and give it to us when we had colds🌲

Geez i miss him...

He sounds really neat. I'm glad you had a grandfather like that! It's amazing what he knew!

I was lucky to have had him in my life :)
Even when we ate rattlesnake eeeew lol

Happy weekend to you ⭐️

I wonder when you will write about all your food adventures with your grandfather. They would be interesting to read, I think!

I actually should! Possum, pigeons, snakes and foraged greens, I don't want to scare anyone away lol

Thank you for the idea! I promise soon ☺️

It would quite a contrast from the beautiful vintage look of many of your posts! But it does help us to connect to our heritage, when people lived close to the land. That's one reason I like foraging wild food - it reminds me of my own heritage and how many people relied on those plants and wildlife for their food and more.

There are a lot of people on Steemit that are interested in foraging plants and animals. If you use the #foraging tag, I will see it for the @foraging-trail, too. Enjoy the memories of your grandfather!

Thank you!
Oh and I appreciate you sharing the tag and link to the blog with me. I learned so much from my grandfather and father. Being the only girl amongst brothers and male cousins in order to get to hang out I had no choice but do as they did haha I'm so glad I did!
Definitely will be sharing some stories soon.
Happy Tuesday to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40