My Impromptu Dinner Party- Complete with Fudge Bacon Cupcakes

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5760.JPG
Yesterday, boredom took over me and so I decided to have an impromptu dinner party! I looked in my pantry and fridge and improvised with what was in stock.

Tomato season meant some kind of pasta was to be served and I had baked an Italian loaf so there would certainly be garlic bread! I always have greens and vegetables so a salad was prepared as well as a cheese and charcuterie platter from my earlier visit to the Italian deli.

A bottle of Veuve was chilled in the fridge as well
as a bottle of Jax Cabernet.

I whipped up some fudge, maple and bacon cupcakes and adorned them with petite flags I had leftover from our New Years soirée.
IMG_5761.JPG
Now to call my neighbors!

Thankfully they all love to improvise as much as I do and about 6 couples showed up. Between bites of savory and sweet and laughter, conversation about music, chickens, life and a lot of WW2 talk (thanks to my sweet retired admiral neighbor) we shared a lighthearted splendid moment with one another. It's a great feeling to be able to reside in a community where friendships go beyond than the usual wave from the driveway!

What is something special you shared with someone from your neighborhood?

all content and images are my property, please ask before borrowing

Sort:  

The cupcakes look divine and what a great evening you had I'm happy for you your life sound marvelous🌷

Ay amiga gracias, I think we make out of our lives whatever we want them to be :)

I go for dog walks most evenings with a buddy down the street and his dogs, and recently my son has taken to coming on the venture too, it's a nice couple miles. Happy hump day.

Isn't it amazing as your children get older the more and more you do with them as a mini version of the adult you!
Happy hump day to you friend :)

You must have a very exciting life! Your post put a smile on my face. Who doesn't like bacon and chocolate? I admire you.

Aww thank you!
I love improvising and spur of the moment things! (That's how I ended up flying away to South Beach Miami and getting married one summer) haha

I appreciate you stopping by.
Lovely day to you!⭐️
Following you now!

To be your neighbor, or "real world" friend, they are lucky to have you.
Bakery shop perfection with the cupcakes.

Thank you, they spoil me and my husband like crazy too!

I bet, it sounds like a really nice community you settled in to. In the future we will move on to a friendlier place like that.

I think you and your family will love it!

Lucky neighbors to have such a good hostess next door! Impromptu get- togethers are so much fun!

Aww thank you, I'm lucky to have them too.
It was so much⭐️

OMG... Everything You Post Looks So Delicious....
Boy I wish I were your neighbor...lol
Next time you get together with your Ret Adm friend tell him you have an online friend who is a Bubblehead... Cheers :)

I'm not even gonna google it and just tell him and find out then and there lol
And thank you, I cook, they eat and it disappears quicker than it took to make it. But I love it☺️

This looks absolutely delicious.

Thank you! It was fun as well :)

Great cupcakes. Chocolate is my favorite. Now I am hungry.
Good post!!!!! 😊

I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Wishing you a lovely day!

I have ever had a cupcake with bacon, they do look gorgeous though :)

It goes pleasantly well with chocolate, a little savory to your sweet. Try it sometime! It is common to see chocolate dipped bacon in California as well :)

Sounds something different :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44