You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keto Diet: Health Benefits and Why Don’t People Know?

in #food6 years ago

I followed a ketogenic diet for 4 years after a thyroid cancer diagnosis, it was recommended to me as a future cancer preventative by my naturopath. I learned so much about the metabolic process and how our bodies use food to make energy. Doing the ketogenic diet strictly helped me to break my sugar and gluten addictions (yes, our bodies get addicted to these things) and become much more aware of good vs. bad carbs. I don't follow the diet strictly anymore, but it does still inform my food choices and I think it (like any other diet) can be done in a way that is super healthy. It's easy to rely on animal products and fake sweeteners to keep yourself in ketosis, but that's not really the point of the diet. To do it well, you should really be eating lots of green vegetables and good fats with just small amounts of clean protein. Writing this comment has got me realizing that I need to write my own post about going keto!

Sort:  

Hello Ariadne, thank you for sharing your story! I’m so sorry to hear about your diagnosis, what happened with your thyroid cancer? I hope that’s not too personal of a question! I would love to read your story on keto.

I know the feeling of being addicted to carbs and gluten. The processes for wheat create a weird strain of gluten in the U.S. which is causing a lot of people to have severe reactions. Maybe ketogenic diets are enough to at least cut down sugar and gluten enough to a healthy level.

Cheers!

not too personal @chipper , I was under a lot of pressure from the allopathic doctor and my mom and ultimately I chose to have surgery to remove my whole thyroid, I also did radioactive iodine treatment. I've been cancer free for 5 years now.

I blogged about that experience back then and maybe I will tell more of the story here on steemit. I've also been thinking about writing about my choice to go ketogenic but haven't started to write it up yet.

I think it feels really good to be off carbs, I do let myself have some good treats now and again but I stick to paleo style treats, with almond and tapioca flours and only honey or maple syrup for sweetener.

Thanks for writing back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81