Ohagi お萩steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Today is the Autumnal Equinox Day. The Japanese have a custom of eating Botamochi ( Ohagi ) in the equinoctial week. Botamochi (Ohagi) is pre-formed rice-cake packed by red bean past (or soybean flour ). Botamochi and Ohagi are the same, but we call it Botamochi in the spring equinoctial week and call it Ohagi in the autumn equinoctial week. “Botamochi” is derived from “Botan” (peony), and “Ohagi” is derived from “Hagi” (Japanese bush clover). They were named after flowers represented in each season.
今日は秋分です。日本ではお彼岸に牡丹餅(お萩)を食べる習慣があります。牡丹餅(お萩)は、つきかけの餅を餡(あるいはきな粉)でつつんでいます。牡丹餅とお萩は同じものですが、春のお彼岸に食べるものを牡丹餅、秋のお彼岸に食べるものをお萩と呼びます。それぞれの季節を代表する花で呼んでいるわけです。

I also ate Ohagi for breakfast in this morning.
私も今朝、朝食にお萩を食べました。

ohagi.png

I’d not like to lose this delicious custom.
こういうおいしい風習はなくしたくないものです。

Sort:  

ohagi... excellent and healthy looking... @argon thanks for sharing

Thanks for your comment!

welcome and find time to check my blog posts too
regards and have a lovely day...

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

私がこの中で食べてみたいのはきな粉のお萩です(笑)
なんとなく、お萩と牡丹餅の区別が曖昧でしたが、今回で分かりました。
勉強になります。

牡丹餅とお萩の区別については他にもいろいろな説があるようですが、この説が最も一般的なようですし、納得がいく説だと思います。

お餅系大好きです!
おはぎは春と秋で呼び方が違うのですね。
3つ全部食べる自信あります(笑)

私も3つ余裕でたいらげましたw

本当にその通りだと思います。
大切にしていきたい文化ですよね。

まあ、私が食べたいからなんですけどね。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62070.52
ETH 2422.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64