A Nutritionist's

in #food7 years ago

 Hello, Steem world! I'm Sarah, a Cali native-turned-New York City Dietetic Intern. I graduated from the University of California, Davis in 2016 with a BS in Clinical Nutrition. 6 months ago I packed my bags for the East Coast to begin a new chapter where I knew a whopping one person. My accumulated 23 years of life bring me to today: I'm young, incredibly (sometimes laughably) broke in the Big City, and up to my ears in nutrition knowledge and adventures to share. *Note: If that last sentence sounds familiar, you might be one of my Fooddhism followers! I'm also the voice of the Instagram account https://www.instagram.com/fooddhism/).Fellow academics and friends know that my love for food and health, plus a knack for academics and the sciences runs deep; so deep, in fact, that I'm 3.5 months away from becoming a Registered Dietitian (Summer 2017, I'm looking at you!) after which I have every intention of pursuing a PhD in Nutritional Sciences. While understanding 'what' to eat is hugely important, I'd much rather hone in on the 'why.' I can teach and preach nutrition education until I'm blue in the face, yet 9 times out of 10, old habits die hard. I want to research the drivers of eating behavior and food preferences (spoiler alert: I truly believe the answer lies within our gut microbiota. Stay tuned for that!)Nutrition professionals have an abundance of sound health information to share, and share we must; Scholars need a reliable research source to reference, young people need a trustworthy authority on food trends and health gimmicks, and millions of consumers struggle between losing those last ten pounds and compulsively eating that chocolate cake (disclaimer: yet another trendy diet is not the answer!)I will soon be a professional clinician, researcher, and corporate contractor with extensive writing experience. Spreading evidence-based nutrition information to the masses is my mission, and I invite you to join me on this journey! 

Sort:  

Hello and welcome :) I'm so excited to see someone else on here with a heart for evidence-based information :)

I've seen a few dodgy posts out there, so glad to have you here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61449.84
ETH 2398.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56