You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freshly Ground Flour. Better for your body. Better for your tongue.

in #food7 years ago

One thing more, slowly rising bread with less yeast gives much more flavor. One more way of controlling the speed and increasing the flavor is to rise the dough in cooler temperatures, where it is slower but developes a stronger flavor.

Nothing to do with fresh flour though, just wanted to comment on baking :)

I did enjoy the post and I might try making my fresh flour too!

Sort:  

This is very true... well, for the most part.
The flavor is not as strong as a sourdough, nor as strong as adding pumpernickel or rye.
I would say the flavor is more wheat-y and less yeast-y.
I definitely like it better if I have the time. (and the house isn't 90 degrees)

Ha, I know :D Sourdough gives it's very special aroma, as goes adding rye. I googled what pumpernickel is and it looks like something really special.

Slow rising with less yeast and colder temperatures cause the bread become a bit more sour from the types of acids created in the dough, but not as much as with sourdough, which is always far more sour.

If I'm making bread from wheat and not adding that much rye, I'm using malts to give some special flavor in the bread. :) I should make a post about making a traditional Finnish rye bread using sourdough, if you might have a taste for that.

All baking posts seem to be popular. I would suggest you make a post on every type of bread you bake. Even if someone has already done it.

Baking is a important subject, not only because bread is awesome. Thanks for the tip :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62781.37
ETH 2461.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64