Oven Baked Tilapia Recipe - Wellness Wednesday by A Panama Mama

in #food7 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite, easy, go to, healthy recipes is oven baked tilapia. For this I use frozen tilapia filets, but you could use any fish or even chicken. It is tasty and my kids even love them - fighting over who gets to eat the last piece!

image

To make it I put the filets in the sink to thaw with some warm water. After they thaw, I dip them in olive oil that I have in a bowl. Then I prepare a breading mixture. I pour some Italian bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, salt, chili powder and sometimes garlic in a small bowl. I just put in whatever seasonings I feel like that evening. I then coat each filet with the breading mixture and lay it on the baking dish. I usually use my Pampered Chef baking stone and it does not stick.
image

I then put the dish and fish into the oven heated to around 350 degrees and let it cook. I keep an eye on it and pull it out when the fish is no longer pink and the breading is starting to brown.
image

This really is a tasty main course. It comes out flaky and is better for you than fried. It is easily paired with some pasta or rice on the side. Even potatoes and other veggies make for a tasty meal. I hope you will try it.

As they say in Panama, PROVECHO!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by A Panama Mama (apanamamama) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Looks yawming and delicious @apanamamama

It is yummy. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Wow I have never heard of this recipe (perhaps because I live in germany :-D) I really would like to try it out, but I have no oven stone... Can you put the dish on baking parchment? Or do you have another idea?

Yes I think parchment paper would work or even just oiling a cookie sheet so it does not stick. With olive oil. You could even make it in a glass baking dish. It is yummy! 😃

Thank you ! I will try this <3

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I don't know why I don't make tilapia. Hmmm. I tend to pick up salmon for my fish selection... mostly out of habit... like buying chicken. hehe. I'll have to try out your recipe. Looks yummy!

Tilapia is supposedly the least good for you fish, but it's the only one I like because it's not fishy tasting! Ha. Salmon is supposed to be really good for you. This would be great on any fish or chicken since it's just a basic breading before baking it. :) It's our favorite way to eat thinly sliced potatoes too - "French fries" as the kids call them. :)

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a Steemit community dedicated to supporting and promoting engagement among its members!

This post has been featured in Unmentionably Artsy Picks of the Day: Curated Beauty Vol. 11!

Interested in our group? Click the banner below to apply to join, or check out our account @unmentionable!

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Thank you! :)

We will have to try that! We get tilapia from Pricesmart. I know it's considered not the healthiest fish but it tastes too good. I usually saute it in some butter, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Joel makes a great beer batter but we try not to do that too often.

Sounds tasty. Yeah I've heard it isn't the best for you either. We tried to get real fish from the David market (with heads and teeth, you know), but it was so much work that in the end we just decided the PriceSmart tilapia was the way to go. And this breading works up quickly and tastes good!

mm looks good

One of your favorites. ;)

Deliciosa! Pescado!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64010.25
ETH 3401.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62