DUGH (a beverage recipe)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Recently I encountered this drink at a Persian
restaurant, and it is simply too good not to share!

Also spelled doogh, it is basically a diluted yogurt drink enjoyed throughout the middle east.

~My first sip I'd say was quite average, slightly salty, bubbly, nothing earth shattering.

However... the farther into the glass I made it the better it tasted (basically the opposite of beer, in my humble opinion)

How is it I had never heard of or experienced this glass of awesome up until a week ago?

-I see a lot of potential for variations in this simple little beverage but here are the basic ingredients below.

image

Ingredients (5)

● 1cup yogurt, well beaten

● 1 teaspoon chopped fresh mint or a dash of dried mint flakes, crushed

● 1/2 teaspoon salt

● 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

● 1 1/2 cups club soda or spring water, chilled

~Beat all of the lumps out of the yogurt for a smoother drink, I also recomend adding a few ice cubes, this drink is better when it is colder I also added the additional whole leaf of mint just to chew on, besides the chopped fresh mint for drink flavoring.

Other than that you are just mixing the ingredients together and enjoying the fruit of such little labor.

I hope you take the time to try this delicious and simple drink. Change it up, add fruit juices or whatever!

~RECIPES ARE ONLY GUIDELINES~

Selah

For some reason I was unable to rotate the main image to be properly oriented, hope that doesn't ruin the whole thing.

Fixed it, keeping the lizard Gif.

image

Photos: original

Gif: by gif.co via duckduckgo

Sort:  

Great post and excellent pictures! And the lizard meme 😂 I didn't expect that at all haha.

Great main picture. Glad you got it turned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00