You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🍲 HEALTHY PLANT-BASED LUNCHES | Pan-roasted Spiced Chickpea Salad With Parsley Mustard Dressing 🍲

in #food7 years ago

I'm trying to cut down on oil but I guess the chick peas wouldn't be as good done on a dry pan or with a little water do you think ?

Sort:  

Just curious you don't have to answer ;) But is there a reason you are cutting down oils. As long as they are healthy there is no harm done cooking chickpeas in oil. In contrary they help make fat-soluble vitamins in raw veggies more available to your body. I use almost only coconut oil these days! If you cook them in a dry pan I think the will burn easily and never tried to cook with water. Interesting!

My husband likes to follow a whole food plant based diet as outlined The China Study. https://www.amazon.com/China-Study-Cookbook-Plant-Based-Recipes/dp/1937856755/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_14_t_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=DH36384QMRCEZ75179AE

I use just a couple of tablespoons of water to cook things like onion and garlic as the basis of soups and stews. Oils are not used in the diet as they are not a whole food. I gather the belief is that any oil causes degrees of build up in arteries. I do cheat at times of course but dont use oil at home for cooking.

Oh I just bought the book for my kindle.... it's on the list. Reading "how not to die" right now ;) We use coconut oil as it is almost not processed. they take the coconut meat and press the oil out with a mechanical press. But I agree. Processed oil like canola, soy, etc are so bad for your health.

There is quite a few cook books and sites online that follow the principles of the diet. My husband struggles with his weight so he doesnt need the calories from oil.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64