Why roasted (grilled) plantain?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Everyone who is my friend has heard me talking abt roasted plantain atleast once in two days... I am totally obsessed with that meal and I am not ashamed.
image
Aside the fact that it is a sight for sore eyes, it has this unique fulfilling taste that I can never get tired of; plus when combined with roasted yam and fish it gives a balanced diet. Yam, carbohydrate; Fish, protein; Plantain, fats, carbohydrate,vitamins,mineral and you will drink water. So I was at my favourite roasted plantain spot today and decided to tell you how I first tasted this sumptuous meal.
image
I can't recall my age then but I was still in primary school and dad was transferred to kano. We stayed at Lagos then. It was getting close to my birthday and I was sad my dad wouldn't be around to celebrate it. My dad and I had diz culture of going out once a week to eat suya in the evenings and one time he offered to buy roasted plantain and I turned it down bkuz suya was life mehn.

On my birthday mum woke me up and prepared me for school. I was so sad that morning and she didn't even ask why. I got to school and didn't play or talk throughout. I just wished my dad would come buy me suya that evening. I attended Command Children School, Yaba. When school was over I started walking towards the gate as I wasn't even interested in the swing that day. I saw someone walking into the school. He looked and walked like my dad buh I wasn't sure. I had forgotten my glasses at home. When he got closer he started smiling. IT WAS MY DAD

He came back from Kano the day before and slept in a hotel to surprise me. My mum was in on the plan thats wjy she ignored my sad expression that morning. My joy knew no bound. Dad offered to buy me roasted plantain and groundnut on my way home and I accepted without even thinking twice. I didn't care. My dad was here I would eat anything. After the first bite, I fell in love. I couldn't believe it. Something tasted better thansuya (to me).

Since dat day, roasted plantain has stuck. If u wanna try it for the first time try the ripe one first. The unripe 1 is for people like me.

Sort:  

I love this meal more than you do

Oh please where can I get this. Which place exactly..
And isn't that Maureen

Its Maureen ooo. Oko street by Ikot ekpene rd

I looks delicious :)

You have to try it.... You won't regret it

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @annieben to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks much

I don't like roasted plantain biko

You dunno what you are missing o

How come we haven't bonded since? You have no idea my love for roasted yam and plantain. I just fell inlove with you officially. Great content, well done!

Thanks deary

One thing is missing here. I searched the whole post to find the word #BOLE. (grin). I too cant seem to get enough of ripe plantain.

True deary....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66256.41
ETH 2643.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68