What's your favorite childhood food?

in #food6 years ago

It's time to please the kid inside of all of us with mouthwatering treats straight from our childhood.

Sometimes you just want to take a break from being an adult and eating healthy, you just want to relax and enjoy a throwback food that brings you back your childhood. This is how I felt on my last cheat day, when my inner child craved something sweet and I found myself recreating my beloved summer treat, which took me back to my grandparents house where I spent my summer breaks. As kids, every year we just waited the plums to ripen in the garden and immediately asked Grandma to make plum dumplings for us, of course with our help, as we loved so much to knead the dough and shape the dumplings.

dumpling9.jpg

If you're from Eastern Europe or have relatives from that area, you probably are familiar with sweet stuffed dumplings or more specifically plum dumplings. This traditional Hungarian food is one my favorites: it's sweet, crazy delicious and it's so much fun making them. Plum dumplings or Szilvás gombóc are very popular in Eastern Europe, they can be stuffed with various fruits (plums, apricot, cherry) and even with jam, this beloved summer dish is usually served as a main course after a hearty soup or as a dessert.

dumpling4.jpg

Get ready to taste a bit of nostalgia with this dumpling recipe! First prepare a smooth potato dough, roll out and cut into little squares, then wrap around the sweetened cinnamon-y plums and make balls in your hand. Cook the dumplings in salted water, drain them and cover them sweet toasted breadcrumbs. Serve and enjoy!
If you'd like to make these amazing dumplings click HERE to get the instructions!

dumpling3.jpg

Tell me in the comment section what's your favorite treat or meal from your childhood! Let's see those nostalgic foods!

dumpling7.jpg


Note: The recipe and pictures are all mine!

Love,
Anna ♡


Find me on social media!
Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram
Copyright © 2018 | Anna - My Zucchini Recipes

Sort:  

¡Se ve deliciosa tu comida Anna!

Congratulations @annaskitchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Im not familiar with plum dumplings but these look great!
Beautiful delicious looking pictures🤗
Keep these coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64