Exotic fruits you need to taste! - Rambutan #7

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Travelling to different destinations and climatic zones gives us one of a kind opportunity to taste the fruits that don't grow in our local climate. Here I present the fruits that I have tasted during my travels, they are exotic to me for my European point of view :)

Today:

Rambutan

Another beautiful fruit! Red, fluffy ball, could it look better? Just under flexible peel there is soft, light flesh. Sweetish, similar to grape in taste, but a little less intense. Consistency of a lechee. I love this fruit, it is one of the first ones I try to find and buy when I come back to Asia!
To describe the taste better I will tell you what my friend said just after trying this fruit for the first time: "it tastes like dregs from aloetic juice". Inside (under the peel) there is a large, brown seed and its encasement. Don't eat the encasement- it's bitter and spoils Rambutan's sweet taste. Natives and tourist feast on rambutans really often. It's popular in Malaysia, China, Indonesia and other parts of Asia as well. The fruit is believed to effectively fight internal parasites!


And this is how they grow!

Have you ever tasted Rambutan? What do you think of it ? Let me know in the comments!

@lenasveganliving and Fruit and Veggies Monday is something I have recently found on Steemit and am going to participate in the weekly contests for sure!

If you enjoyed my post or found it informative, the upvote will be appreciated :)

Sort:  

Yes. I have eaten lots of Rambutan but Malwane Rambutan is the best in Sri Lanka as it has lot of flesh. I have no words to describe the taste. They are tooooooooo sweet.

Nice 🖒🖒🖒🖒

Never try it... taste like Lychee?

similar, you need to try it ! :)

I haven't seen that here in Venezuela

upvoted-yeah these guys are super tasty

Wow!!! never heard of such fruits

This is my goal to show you those you might be suprised with. Thanks for the nice comment! 😊😊

Here is another one I 've never tasted before. You are great with sharing such a interesting ones ;))) Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84