You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hop Shoots - The Other Hop Crop! - 5 ways to Eat Hop Shoots

in #food7 years ago

The early spring shoots sound especially delicious and all your fixings look amazing! What a great way to use a plant in all stages of development. Thanks for the info.

Sort:  

Glad you enjoyed my spring hop shoots! I hope you get to try some sometime. I'll be posting on how to cook with the bitter hop cones, too. There's a lot more to this plant than beer! :D

I'm looking forward to that post! I have never seen the actual plant for sale but keeping my eyes opened. Do you know if hops can be grown successfully from seed? It might be easier to obtain than the plant.

The only folks that really deal with hop seeds are the breeders. Growers don't want any male plants around because then the cones on the female plants won't be marketable. So what you'll find for sale are the roots. They are expensive, I think, since established plants are monsters that want to spread all over! Maybe some hop starts would make good prizes for a contest next spring! I have always got some to control! I'll put that in my calendar with a reminder!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67