Great Garlic!

in #food7 years ago

The hardneck garlic that I harvested last week has been drying in the sun. Today I cleaned it and sorted it into 3 groups: The "use soons"-- tiny bug holes and split heads. The "long keepers" perfect heads that will last all winter and beyond. The "replants" 6 of the biggest heads that I will split into cloves and replant in October.
image.jpeg
All tied in neat bundles and ready to hang.
I love garlic. It's such an easy crop to grow, delcious, and good for you too.

Sort:  

Garlic are so healthy! Will try my hand at growing some.

Good luck!

Nice! I tried growing garlic this past spring to no avail. The tops grew but that was it, no bulb.🐓

I grow spring garlic as well, but it's not nearly as robust as the hardneck planted in late fall. Give it a try...you might be surprised. You can usually get a good start at your local farmers market.

I really hope to grow our own garlic next year! Sure cucumbers and tomatoes are great to grow but growing your own garlic is just cool!

I have the best success planting it late in the fall. It seems to grow better after spending the winter in the garden.

darn, our garden won't be ready by then

I see you are in Georgia...I am in Canada....same rules may not apply. 😀

haha probably not though garlic still needs a fairly long time to grow! Plus I think it would be too hot to plant it in the spring?

I think you are right about the heat. There are likely some varieties that would do well in your zone.

It's on my extremely long list of things to check out haha but very excited to do it in the future!

How do you know when to harvest? I have grown it the last couple of years but I'm never sure when I should pull it. I'm in zone 5 so mine may not be ready yet. It has flower heads on it almost ready to break open. Do you remove these?
Thanks in advance :)

You should harvest when 2 or 3 of the lower leaves start to turn yellow or die back. If you wait too long, the heads will open up and may not keep as long. I am also in zone 5 so I'm guessing yours are ready too. Next time, cut the flower buds off when they form as they supposedly take energy from the bulbs. Some people eat the young flower buds...called scapes. 😀

Thanks for the tips! I will check them out this weekend. <3

they look great im getting ready to grow garlic for the first time now winter is coming

You won't regret it...garlic is so easy to grow!

Love garlic, those look really great!!!

plus---it keeps the vampires away!

Oooh YUM YUM YUM!!!! I'm DROOLING!!!!!!

we like to mix it with olive oil and salt and dip fresh bread in it.....now I'm drooling too!

Congratulations @anise! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I tried to grow garlic, my soil is sand and I will have to try again. what month did you start your garlic?

I planted the cloves in October. You dont want them to start growing until spring, so late planting is best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96