A gift from heavens above - Cigkofte!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Cigkofte (CHEE' kuf-TAY'), can be roughly translated as "Raw meatballs", is my personal favorite food and I would like all the people of the world to know it, so here goes the post :)

To begin with I would like to mention why I love this food. Apart from the taste of it, as I've listed the ingredients of it below, it is the perfect party food. It is good for lactose intolerant people, vegetarians and even vegans so pretty much anyone can consume it. Unfortunate for people with gluten allergies it contains bulgur wheat :(

3.jpg

I am not going to give the recipe for it but you can easily find it by Googling. So here are the ingredients:

  • fine bulgur (cracked wheat)
  • olive oil
  • onions
  • garlic
  • pomegranite concentrate
  • Turkish ‘isot’
    isot is a type of red pepper, if you can't find it you can just use regular red pepper instead
  • ripe tomatoes
  • tomato paste
  • red pepper paste
  • cumin
  • salt
  • Finely chopped parsley and green onion for garnish

19905120_10210969765573504_7040569198815409676_n.jpg

A common serving method for Cigkofte is "dürüm"(wrap). You take one meatball and lay it on a lavash bread with pomegranate sauce, lettuce leaves, lemon and some hot sauce and wrap it up. Voila! You have the world's most delicious thing wrapped in your hands. Of course it is my personal opinion but I highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend trying it out if you ever come to Turkey. You can thank me later :)

tenor.gif
Me after my third wrap of Cigkofte
(representative image)

Okay enough butt-licking for Cigkofte. I hope you enjoyed the post and if you ever get the chance to try the food I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Now after I mentioned so much about it I have to go out and buy some. Catch You Beautiful People of Steemit later :)

Başlıksız-2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aneyefromturkey from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59112.75
ETH 2519.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47