Harvesting and eating Canadian Thistle Root

in #food6 years ago

70CC912F-23C7-4A9C-A27B-309A6C833C3C.jpeg
So it was a late night but I still managed to whip up something with my thistle root that I harvested.
64BE0EAE-C594-4CEE-B3CB-139DC88EE574.jpeg
I like to harvest the young shoots as they come up and the root is still tender.
Last night I broke out some sweet corn that we had froze last year.
I mixed a little butter a couple of homegrown garlic cloves and sautéed with the chopped thistle root.
I then cracked up a couple of eggs as the main course.
Those were local grown too. From my son and daughter Inlaw’s chickens.
Here are the results 523121CC-B55C-4AFF-805B-D8F52EC5D524.jpeg
Turned out yummy! The thistle roots have kind of an earthy taste which blended with the sweet corn taste nicely.

Sort:  

We eat thistle root here in KY as well. Not sure it is Canadian though. It is amazing how much food is right out in our back yard if you know what to look for.

I often wonder how we got to spraying good food with toxic chemicals instead of just harvesting and eating.
Free food just presenting itself there in abundance for you to eat.

I didn't know you could eat thistle roots, but makes sense. I love reading posts from Canada/America about wild and alternative foods - it's not quite the same where I live but we used to collect wild food all the time when I lived in England and I miss it.

I am pretty good at identifying several types of wild plants but am just learning how to incorporate th into my meals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74