The Venezuelan Cocada.

in #food6 years ago

cocada 1.jpg

Today I’m writing the recipe for a very delicious and typical drink from my country; the Cocada. It is nutritious and very refreshing.

But before starting with the recipe, I want to talk to you about its history; let’s begin with the exact origin of this exquisite drink. After a lot of research and questioning, we find that its origin is not clear at all. It is believed that due to the high production of coconuts in eastern Venezuela, Cocada would have originated there, in Puerto La Cruz or Margarita; but it really became famous in the Coasts of Macuto.

And it's there, in Macuto, where I fell in love with the Cocada…

This drink is connected to a memory of my childhood that I treasure in my mind and my heart: "When I was a child, I waited every Sunday with anxiety. Very early, my family and my lifelong friends would gather to go to the beach. Our destination was always 'La Piscina De Los Caracas'; it was a saltwater pool, with huge facilities and it was right in front of the beach, just a few meters from the pool there was the sand… waiting for us ".

piscina.jpg

Source: Vacational City of Los Caracas, idea by the architect Carlos Raúl Villanueva, inaugurated on August 13, 1955 by General Marcos Pérez Jiménez.
That place was one of the best attractions in our country, but the neglect of the responsible authorities, ended with this wonderful source of entertainment for many families.

While I was remembering these beautiful moments, it also came to my mind that long before arriving to Los Caracas, there was a small obligatory stop for all of us: 'El Rey De Las Cocadas'. Divine and wonderful and unforgettable after more than 30 years. After everyone had bought their respective Cocada, we returned to the cars and took the road back to 'Los Caracas', to enjoy the day of the pool that ended with a divine grill that our parents did, next to a river that was near there.


Let’s start the recipe now!

The Venezuelan Cocada..


Ingredients (calculated measure for a glass):

  • 1 cup of tender coconut.

  • 1 glass of coconut water.

  • 2 tablespoons milk powder.

  • Sugar to taste.

  • Ice to taste.

    Preparation:

    It is very simple. You must place all the ingredients in a blender and liquefy them very well (at high speed) for 3 minutes ... and that's it! Serve and enjoy!

    Note: there are people who prefer to make it with milk and not with coconut water, which is optional. My personal opinion is that I like it more with coconut water because the coconut flavor stands out.
    In the same way, it is optional to add condensed milk and cinnamon.

    This drink is very nutritious because it gives you all the benefits of coconut and its water, such as:

    • Moisturizer.
    • Demineralizing.
    • Antioxidant.
    • Energetic.
    • Blood pressure regulator.
    • It has a low content of sugars and fats.
    • It is rich in minerals, vitamins and trace elements.

    agua-de-coco-beneficios.jpg
    Source

    I hope you liked it and are encouraged to do it and share it!

    See you soon!

    logo.png

Sort:  

simplemente deliciosoooo!

Excelente post! Me recuerda a chichiriviche. jajaja

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56