🍝 Vegan Spaghetti Meatballs with Veggie Sauce 🍝

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Every time someone is hesitant to try out plant-based meals, one of my favorite things to do is show them just how comforting and hearty these dishes can be. I have cooked plant-based dishes for so many friends and family and the plates never came back untouched.

But I get where the fear is coming from. Many vegan or vegetarian dishes you order in restaurants are so bland and packed with soy or other overly processed foods. Nobody wants to eat. Although, times are changing fast. With a growing community of plant-based munchers and flexitarians, the places that actually sell yummy plant-based foods are expanding at a rapid rate. Yeah to that!

Ready for a healthy, vegan makeover of an old time classic? then dive into this Italian-spired bowl of plant-goodness. I'm sure you will not miss the meat in this recipe. For all you know, you might even like this one better. We sure do!

Ingredients (serves 2)

Spaghetti of your choice for 2 people (half a small pack)

For the “meatballs”

1/2 cup uncooked, dried adzuki or ming beans
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/3 cup red onions, finely chopped
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 cup grated carrots
1/4 cup Panko breadcrumbs
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
Black pepper and sea salt to taste
1 flax/chia seed egg (see instructions) or 2-3 tablespoon peanut butter

For the veggie sauce

1/2 cup onions, chopped
2 cups celery, chopped
2 cloves garlic minced
1 cup carrot, chopped
3 cups tomatoes, chopped
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried rosemary
Black pepper and sea salt to taste

Directions

Flax/chia egg

  1. 1 egg = 1 tbsp chia seeds or ground flax seeds + 3 tbsps water. Mix and let sit for a few minutes.

For the “meatballs”

  1. Optional: Soak adzuki or mung beans for a few hours. The longer you soak them the faster they cook.
  2. Bring mung or adzuki beans and water to a gentle boil. When boiling, reduce the heat to simmer and cook until the beans are tender. This will take about 15-30 minutes (depending on whether you soaked them or not).
  3. Meanwhile, heat a skillet with cooking oil over medium heat. Saute the onions until soft and fragrant. This will take bout 5 minutes. Stir in the garlic and carrots and cook for a few minutes more.
  4. Combine cooked beans and onion mix with all other meatball ingredients, except for the “chia or flax egg”, in a food processor. Pulse a few times to combine the ingredients, then add the “egg” and pulse a few times more. Do not overdo to pulsing, the beans should still have some shape in them.
  5. To cook the meatball you have two options: if you are in a rush you can bake/fry them in a skillet with cooking oil too. When they start to brown, gently toss the pan to turn them.

Or you can bake them in the oven. Preheat oven to 425˚F or 220˚C. Roll the meatball mixture into balls and place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Lightly brush each “meatball” with a little olive or coconut oil. Bake until nicely browned. This will take about 25 to 30 minutes.

For the veggie sauce

  1. Heat a skillet or pot with cooking oil over medium heat. Saute onion until soft and fragrant. This will take about 3-5 minutes. 2. Stir in garlic, celery, and carrots. Cook for another 5 minutes. Stir regularly.
  2. Then add tomatoes and season with oregano, rosemary, salt and black pepper. Stir well and reduce the heat to low and cook for 10 to 15 minutes or until tomatoes are soft and sauce-like.
  3. Meanwhile, cook pasta in lightly salted water according to the instructions on the package. When al dente, drain in a colander and top with veggie sauce and meatballs.

Buon Appetito!!!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

For me who wants to become Vegan is a great recipe. I will follow you because you are good at cooking and you have a good idea. Thank you.

Aww thanks @izbing! Nothing better than vegan comfort food dishes to start your journey. have a great day!

Great recipe. The thing that I liked the most is the addition of flax/chia seeds. They are great source of omega 3. Plus those meatballs looks delicious. Thanks for sharing. :)

Thanks, @rahul516! And I completely agree... chia and flax are amazing!

Meatballs are my favorite.. thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.

Looks great, need to test this recipe! They even look like real meatballs =)
Upvote and follow! :)

Beautiful illusion for the 'meatballs' dear! It looks same!
And with that amazing tomato sauce this dish is surely to be excellent!

Thanks @progressivechef! Loved the celery in the tomato sauce. Should use that more often. Enjoy the rest of your day!

That's true, celery does bring a beautiful flavor to the tomato sauce!

loved your recipe as always ! give it a try with lentils spaggeti ! ;)

Never heard of lentil spaghetti. Not sure if I will find it in Cambodia though. Will look for it on our Europe trip later this year! Thanks for the tip ;)

Want me to send you some ?? Thats what friends are ! :)

Ohh that's so kind of you! Unfortunately, the mailing system is next to none existing here. Thanks for the offer though. Much appreciated. Hope we ever have the chance to meet up. I added lentil pasta to the to-buy list when we visit Europe. Some store in either Finland-Belgium-Barcelona will sell this. Thanks again my friend. Have a great week.

You are welcome my friend ! Maybe we get a chance to catch up at Lisbon ! you too my dear ! :)

I hope so... but it will be hard. We have to go to a crypto venue in Barcelona on Oct 3-5 to present my husband's new company.... so not sure if I can stretch the holiday one month longer. Mid-sept we are leaving for Finland and Belgium... after that Barcelona... and who knows I'll stick around. My Mom would def love it!

I'm not a vegan-type of foodie but this really looks delicious. I've put this recipe up for future tries. Thanks for posting this!

I'm sure you will not regret it! thanks for stopping by and enjoy the recipe and the rest of this beautiful summer week!

Wow - I can't wait to share that with my GF who is a vegetarian - following and resteemed!

Enjoy! I'm sure she and you will love it! One of my fav vegan dishes. Thanks for stopping by my blog ;)

I'd think there will be potatoes involved to make the meatballs. still it looks good.

No potatoes.... not sure if this will work with potatoes. Think they might fall apart during cooking. But thanks for the idea I'll give it a try some time ;)

i think it will. let me check out and see if i can find what i was thinking of tonight 😎

Nice. I will tell my wife to make that for me....

You won't regret it! Let me know how they turned out! Thanks for stopping by ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44