Vegan Chili con Quinoa with Sweet Potatoes, Black Beans, and Cashew Sour cream

in #food8 years ago


As a semi-vegan or flexitarian, I love creating 100 percent plant-based dishes that taste or look the same as some of my non-vegan comfort foods. Maybe that's why I love cooking vegan or veggie dishes so much.... a lot of creativity and love goes into those recipes, and they are healthy too. Win-win!

A good old chili con carne is a classic that always goes down well. This has inspired me to make my own vegan version: Chili con Quinoa... and I must say, the pot was empty. While I cooked a little bit too much a friend dropped by later, and he happily finished the dish!

While the dish was absolutely delicious, now that everything has been cooked and eaten, I think I should have used mung or aduki beans instead of quinoa. When these red or green beans are cooked they really resemble the texture of meat. I once made a vegan lasagna with them and my hubby thought I used minced beef. Note for a future dish has been made ;-)

Ingredients (serves 2)

For the cashew sour cream

1 cup raw unsalted cashew nuts soaked and drained
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
0.5-1 lime or lemon juice only, add to taste
pinch sea salt
1/3-1/2 cup water depending on how thick you want it to be

For the chili con quinoa

1.5 cup carrots, chopped
3 cups tomatoes, chopped
1 big sweet potato (any color or variety), chopped (we used purple)
1 cup cooked or canned black beans drained and rinsed (½ cup dried = 1.5 cup cooked = 1 15 oz can, drained)
1/2 cup onions, chopped
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1-2 Thai chili pepper, finley chopped (or to taste)
1 teaspoon ground cumin seeds
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon ground coriander seeds
sea salt
black pepper
1/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1/2 cup water

Instructions

for the cashew cream

  1. Soak cashews in water for at least 1 hour. Overnight is best. The longer they soak, the creamier the sour cream.
  2. Drain soaked cashews and combine all ingredients in a blender. Process until smooth. Add more water if needed.

For the chili con quinoa

  1. In a large pot, heat cooking oil over medium. Saute onions for 2 minutes, add chili, garlic, cumin, and coriander. Cook for 1-2 minutes more. Stir regularly.
  2. Stir in tomatoes, sweet potato, carrots, uncooked quinoa, oregano, salt, pepper, and water. Stir well. Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes. Stir occasionally. Add more water if needed.
  3. Add black beans and cook for 5 minutes more.
  4. Top with cashew sour cream

Enjoy!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'll taste. Thank you!

Enjoy! I hope you like it too!

Really love your first pic. What an interesting combo. I must try it

This looks delicious, I love quinoa, thanks for sharing :-)

Me too. Enjoy ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31