Toasted Spiced Chickpea Salad With Parsley Mustard Dressing

in #food7 years ago

DSCF4975.JPG

Chickpeas, aka garbanzo beans, are a staple food at our home. They are one of my favorite plant-based sources of protein. Since soy seriously messed up my hormones in the past and is usually GMO, getting our protein through things like tofu is just a big no-no.

For years doctors told me to eat more soy products to control my inherited cholesterol levels. And without any question, I believed I was doing something good for my body until all my milk glands in both breasts were painfully swollen and my hormones went through the roof.

Eager to find out what was wrong with me, I started to do my research and couldn't believe what I found. Soy was never meant to be eaten in its unfermented state. It contains so many toxins and anti-nutrients that it came as no surprise that I was experiencing so many issues. To make a long story short, I quit soy intake and everything went back to normal.

Ever since chickpeas and other beans have taken up the place of soy products in my diet. And to be honest they taste so much better. Each cup of garbanzo beans or chickpeas provides 12 grams of protein or 24 percent of the daily value based on a 2,000-calorie diet. Our body needs protein to build muscles, repair body tissues and support digestion and immune functions.

Ingredients (serves 3)


For the chickpeas

2 cups cooked chickpeas, well drained
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp smoked paprika powder
1 tsp chili powder
Black pepper and sea salt to taste

For the salad

2 cups shredded purple cabbage
2 cups shredded iceberg lettuce
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved

For the dressing

1-inch ginger
1/2 cup fresh parsley
1 lime, juice only
1-2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp mustard
Black pepper and sea salt to taste

Directions


  1. Combine all dressing ingredients in a food processor or small blender and process until smooth.Set aside.
  2. Combine all salad ingredients in a bowl. Toss to combine. Set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, combine all herbs for the chickpeas. Mix well.
  4. Pat chickpeas dry with paper towel. Heat cooking oil over medium-high heat. Add chickpeas into the hot [an – they should sizzle as soon as they hit the pan. Before adding the spice mix, let them roast lightly, stirring them regularly so that they don’t burn. Then stir in the herbs and mix to coat. Remove from the heat and finish the roasting of the spices in the hot pan, tossing them around the pan.
  5. Divide salad over plate or bowl, top with chickpeas and drizzle with dressing.

DSCF4962.JPG

DSCF4964.JPG

DSCF4967.JPG

DSCF4977.JPG

Bon Appétit

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Thanks, always good to have lots if recipes in the arsenal.

True that! Thanks for stopping by ;)

Ready to join and eat!!!

Hehe! As you know you are always welcome at our table ;)

Thanks, will join ou guys one sweet day...however I will eat all your yummies!!! they are great!!!!

Hehe! I would love that ;)

Thanks..hehe..yummy lady.

I love chickpeas. There are so many things you can do with chickpeas. Your salad looks great. Thanks for the info on soy...some things I did not know. Thanks. Tess :)

Thanks Tess! And I agree... chickpeas are such a wonderful and versatile food. Enjoy the weekend ;)

Really bad advice from the doctor @amy-goodrich! I'm glad that you found it out by yourself and treating you with foods which are doing good for your health.
Needless to say, I just love the way you prepared those chickpeas with the spices, simply awesome

Thanks @progressivechef! I'm really happy that I could pinpoint the issue and I am now spreading the word since so many vegans and vegetarians rely on soy products for their protein. Have a great day ;)

looks very delicious and wholesome healthy.....will try this

Thanks @lesnar123! I hope you like it too.

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Chickpeas!!

Wow! Great idea to put chickpeas in salad, me I boiled it and I put just cumin and little salt and i eat it, it contains lot of iron and folic . I like it. Always healthy food.

Thanks @creativewoman! We love chickpeas too... especially with cumin. One of my favorite spices.

Thanks for this recipe! I'll tell my mother to do it.

You are welcome! I'm sure you'll love it too. Those chickpeas are so yum!

Yes, that's right.

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Oh, that's really great. Thank you.

your most welcome

Thanks @awesome-seven! Food and health are two of my many passions in life!

Hi looks very tasty, good food is the foundation of genuine happiness. cheers!

Hehe. It sure is. Thanks for stopping by @allabout!

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50