Sesame Tuna Hummus Sandwich

in #food8 years ago

A yummy and healthy twist on the classic mayo-filled tuna sandwich. Swapping mayo for hummus adds a creamy texture and extra flavor while reducing calories, cholesterol, saturated fat, and sodium.

Also, as you may or may not know, I'm all for clean whole foods. Canned foods are indeed a convenient option. Chickpeas have long soaking and cooking times. However, there is one simple trick that will help you remove yet another canned and processed food item from your grocery list: Batch Cooking + Freezing

Did you know that you can soak, cook and then freeze chickpeas for later? You won't regret this simple trick as home cooked chickpeas taste so much better than the canned version, and they are chemical-free too.

How to: soak chickpeas overnight in water. Cook chickpeas in water for 45-60 minutes. Drain, allow to cool and spread in one single layer on a baking sheet. Freeze for 45 minutes to one hour (to avoid frozen clumps of chickpeas). Divide into portion and freeze for later.

Simple as that!

Ingredients

For the sandwich (serves 2)

  • 8 slices bread of your choice (GF if needed)
  • 2 cups salad greens of your choice
  • 1 cup tomatoes or cherry tomatoes sliced or halved
  • 1/2 cup cucumber (optional) sliced

For the tuna hummus

  • 1 can solid white tuna packed in water
  • 3/4 cup cooked or canned chickpeas (½ cup dried = 1.5 cup cooked = 1 15oz can drained)
  • 1/2 cup plain unsweetened yogurt
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 clove garlic
  • sea salt to taste
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds raw or roasted
  • 1/2 lime or lemon juice only (use less if using lemon, ½ lime = 1 tbsp)

Instructions

  1. In a blender or food processor, blend all hummus ingredients until a smooth and spreadable paste.
  2. Toast bread slices if you like. Top with hummus, (cherry) tomatoes, and lettuce.

Enjoy


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

This looks delicious.
But I do want to comment that there is nothing wrong with cholesterol and saturated fat in the diet. A homemade mayo would be just as healthy as hummus, just different. Bought mayo wouldn't be, but more because of the dodgy oils and other ingredients.
I like the yoghurt instead of the olive oil, for an interesting change, too.

True, our body needs cholesterol and fats. However, most people eat just too much of it, and most of them don't bother making homemade mayo either. I inherited high cholesterol levels and heart rhythm disorder from my dad and grandma, so low-cholesterol dishes are quite important to me!

I actually think what people are mindlessly eating too much of is unhealthy vegetable oils, as there will be in store bought mayo. So hummus is a much better bet, especially homemade. Sadly store bought hummus usually has bad oils in it too, instead of olive oil.
I'm on a water fast at the moment, so your recipe looks extra good to me right now. It's been ok, but am looking forward to breaking the fast with some broth in about 18 hours.

Vegetable oils are indeed pure poison. Good luck with the water fast! Never done one myself. Did a lot of fruit fasts or juices. How many days are you aiming for?

It's 3 days now. I was going to do 4 but I think it will end up being 3 1/2. It was easier than I feared, but I think that will be enough for now.

Well done! That's already quite impressive!

We can't nest any deeper, so replying to this one. Thanks. I'll do a post when its all over.

I will definitely have to try soaking chickpeas. I am a fool for the cans!

Damn those convenient foods! I was the same until we learned this simple trick. Never have bought a single can since then.

Oh yeah, hummus!! - STEEM ON!

Yummy! I too often use hummus in place of other sauces, as not only do I not trust ready-made sauces, but I like each thing I eat to be nutritious! It's funny you mentioned about batch cooking as that's exactly what I've been doing today with black beans and pinto beans. Am planning on doing a post in the next couple days, as you're right it saves so much cooking time and everyone should be aware of this!

By the way I just checked out your website and facebook page... Looks great! I will follow... I love good advice about health and will most likely post some links on my facebook page! Thank you :-)

I must try this! Considering I prefer hummus to mayo on any sandwich, I can't believe I never thought of this swap before! Question: have you made hummus in advance and frozen any batches?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 62719.50
ETH 2525.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70