Roasted Butternut Panini with Blue Cheese and Fresh Parsley

in #food7 years ago

butternut-panini-blue-cheese2.jpg

Oven-roasted butternut paired with fresh parsley and blue cheese. A family favorite! If you have been following my blog then you know we don't eat bread very often, but absolutely love this beautiful sandwich!

Ingredients (serves 2)

1.5 to 2 cups butternut, diced (small cubes roast faster)
0.5-ounce blue cheese, or to taste
Pinch red pepper flakes
Black pepper and sea salt
1/4 cup chopped red onions chopped
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp honey or maple syrup
4 slices bread of your choice
1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley
1 cup fresh kale or arugula (or other salad green of your choice)
1/4 cup sliced cucumbers
1/4 cup sliced tomatoes sliced

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F or 200°C.
    Add butternut, red pepper flakes, sea salt and black pepper to a baking sheet. Drizzle with oil and toss to coat. Roast butternut for about 20-30 minutes or until soft.
  2. While roasting, heat cooking oil in a sauce pan over medium heat. Saute the onions until soft and add vinegar and maple syrup or honey. Cook until thickened.
  3. Combine roasted butternut, onions, and parsley in a bowl and mash well.
  4. Add a thin layer of blue cheese to a slice of bread (lightly toast bread slices if you have no panini maker for extra crunch). Top with butternut mix, arugula, tomato, cucumber, and another slice of bread. Cut in half or quarters and serve.
  5. If you have a panini maker, toast until golden. You can use the oven or a skilled too. We don't have a panini maker so we used a skillet with a little cooking oil.

Bon Appetit!!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1 AND OUKITEL PHONE C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Yum... this looks great! And it's healthy + vegetarian. I may try out this and some other of your food that you have posted on your blog. :)

Thanks @chhaylin! I'm glad you like the recipe I share! have a great weekend!

Awesome , have to try, upvoted and resteemed

May you enjoy it as much as we did! Thanks for your support!

damn! my mouth is watering

Hehe! Thanks for your compliment @cryptotraderx! Our door is always open if you want some ;)

This looks so good! I have a butternut squash in my pantry that needs to be cooked, maybe I will give this a try :)

I hope you like it too! It was so delicious! Thanks for stopping by!

Blue Cheese is my Dad's favorite. I am making this for him, thanks so much for the inspiration!!

I'm sure he will love it! Pairs so well with the butternut! Let me know how he liked it! Have a great weekend @gringalicious!

Me too! hehe! Thanks for visiting @berkat!

You have lots of good recipes I am eating butternut squash for gut health. I used to grow them in Wisconsin. They don't like Hawaii as much. My wife love blue cheese me not so much I will switch the cheese in this one ;-) Aloha!

Ohh is it. Maybe you should try a different variety! Here the grow butternut, but it is a smaller type, but the same taste! Seems to fare well in a tropical climate. Thanks for your comment and support @wavemaster

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36