You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flourless Flowerful Crepe (or Faux-Crepe) - Wildflowers Galore - 6 weeds with foraging ID quiz

in #food7 years ago

What a great post @haphazard-hstead! I never used a lot of flowers in my cooking! Very inspiring. I'm sorry to hear that you got disqualified, though! I have made crepes with banana and eggs, no flour or other dry ingredients in the past too.

Sort:  

I'm glad you appreciated these crepes, @amy-goodrich! So many flowers, especially edible wild flowers, don't last very long or transport very easily. So I can understand why we don't see them in stores and so people don't know so much about them. But all these flowers are worth eating. The bittercress flowerstalks will get tougher as the season goes on, so the timing was just right for these crepes.

And yes, I'm still calling them crepes, lol. I've been on the losing end of the culinary challenge many times already, including being disqualified. But it's a fun part of Steemit. At least I ate well -- and the weeds didn't cost me anything. And it's more important to me that people can see that wild plants can be real food for regular people.

Cambodia has so many edible plants and flowers. Just discovered a moringa tree and some papaya trees growing in the garden :-) Should research the flowers a bit more too.

Wow -- I've heard that the leaves of both those trees are good, but I've never seen either tree in person. I think @reddust uses papaya leaves, in Oklahoma. I'd like to see what you do with moringa or papaya, with the way that you cook! :D

Moringa actually tastes like spinach, but maybe a bit less bitter in the after taste! I have never tried papaya leaves, but love papaya in smoothies, fruit salads or normal salads. And the best part, the tree grows super fast and already bears fruit when it is still small... takes only 5-6 months from seed to fruit bearing tree! Moringa recipes defintely coming up!

That amazing about how fast papaya grows, considering how big those fruits are! I'll look forward to those moringa recipes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50