Power Breakfast Bowl: Homemade Granola with Yogurt, Banana, Goji Berrie, sand Hemp Hearts

in #food7 years ago (edited)

DSCF2157-1.jpg

Nothing beats the flavor of homemade. For a few years now we have been making our own granola and yogurt (coconut and dairy). Though I will have a green smoothie later this day, I was craving a crunchy yogurt bowl this morning! And this one completely satisfied my needs on this hot tropical day!

If you have never tried hemp heart or hulled hemp seeds before, they are the new superfood on the rise and I just love their nutty added flavor.

Are you ready for a power breastfast? Here we go!

Ingredients

For the granola

1 cup uncooked rolled oats
½ cup raw unsalted mixed nuts, roughly chopped (we used cashews, hazelnuts, and almonds)
⅛ cup raw unsalted mixed seeds (we used sunflower or pumpkin seeds are great)
¼ cup unsweetened dried fruit chopped (we used goji berries)
¼ cup unsweetened desiccated coconut
1-2 tablespoons maple syrup or honey
1-2 tablespoons extra virgin coconut oil
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
A pinch sea salt

FYI: this makes more than you need, but it can be stored in an airtight container for a few weeks.

For the yogurt bowl (serves 2)

1 cup (homemade) plain unsweetened yogurt
1 big banana, sliced
2 tbsp hemp hearts
2/3 cup homemade granola

FYI: to make your own yogurt, check out my previous post: Wild Fermentation - Homemade Cultured Yogurt

homemade-cultured-yogurt-7.jpg

Directions

For the granola

  1. Preheat the oven to 150°C or 300°F.
  2. Combine all ingredients, except dried fruits (if using), in a mixing bowl. Toss/Stir to coat evenly with the maple syrup/honey and extra virgin coconut oil.
  3. Add the granola mix in one single layer to a baking sheet.Bake in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes or until nicely browned. For extra crispiness, toast under the grill for the last few minutes. Add dried fruits at the very end.
  4. Allow to cool and store in an airtight container. Keep for a few weeks to a month.

healthy-homemade-granola-recipe-2.jpg

healthy-homemade-granola-recipe (2).JPG

For the yogurt bowl

  1. Combine yogurt, banana, and granola in a serving bowl.
  2. Sprinkle with hemp hearts and/or other superfoods of your choice. I added Extra goji berries

DSCF2154.JPG

Have a wonderful day!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

I've done granola bowls my whole life by just dumping a few ingredients into some greek yogurt.. but your way looks way better. I gotta try this.

Thanks @heymattsokol! Glad to know you are inspired by it!

Looks yummy 😋

Thank you @abdularhman! Was yummy too ;)

Gosh...U just got me salivating...nice concept...will be trying this and revert with update. Upvoted and following ...

Thanks my friend! It is so easy to make and so much better than store bought! Have a great weekend!

Great timing Amy. I usually make my own coconut cream yogurt and kefir, and I used to make my own granola, but haven't for a long time. I rarely use fixed recipes ~ Generally combine raw ingredients intuitively. But feel inspired to try your recipe now and roast for that extra crunchy texture. Following you now. Cheers with a glass of kombucha.🍷

Ohhh kombucha! That has been a while for me! I haven't found a starter yet here in Cambodia! Might have to take one from Europe on our next trip! Not sure if it will survive the trip though! Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment @allyinspirit!

They are survivors Amy. Just keep it in a little of the liquid if possible. 🍷

I'll see what I can do. Going to Europe at the end of summer! And I'll keep looking and asking around here.

Don't know what the import laws of Cambodia are like. But it's easy to buy a scoby ~ If you really have to.

Another way would be to buy a commercially made bottle of Kombucha ~ A genuine one that has the beginnings of a 'baby' and just keep feeding it. A bit slower, but if you start it now, by the time you return from Europe, it should be ready to go. 🍷

I'll see whatI can find when we are in Europe in 2 to 3 months. Cambodia doesn't have food health stores. We do have a small basic supermarket, but I haven't seen Kombucha anywhere. Since they never check your luggage when you arrive in Cambodia I'm sure I can sneak one in! Thanks again for the tips!

Pleasure. Hope you have a great time in Europe Amy. 💖

Homemade <3 Love it

I tottaly agree! Homemade is the best! Thanks for your comment @umangkochar1996!

Awesome recipe!! :) Upvoted <3

Thanks ღ ღ ღ

Thanks for sharing a very delicious looking and healthy recipe, too!
@amy-goodrich

My pleasure @breakingtonight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57