Lentil "Meatballs" with Zucchini Pasta and Tomato Sauce

in #food8 years ago (edited)


A gluten-free, vegetarian or vegan delight. Even the biggest carnivore will love this plant-based dish.

Lentils or mung/aduki beans are an excellent meat replacement and the best way to make a meal vegetarian or vegan. Trust me, swap these for your usual meatballs and I reckon your family will hardly notice the difference. The lentil mix even looked like real minced beef and had the same texture!

Plus, they're low- in calories and ready in about 40 minutes if you presoak the lentils or beans - perfect weeknight recipe!

Ingredients (serves 2)

For the zucchini pasta

  • 2 zucchini, spiralized
    Click here for more info about how to spiralize veggies

For the lentil meatballs

  • 1.5 cup cooked mung/aduki beans or lentils (we used mung beans, 3/4 cup dried makes about 1.5 cup)
  • 1/4 cup onions finely, chopped
  • 1-2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup unsalted peanuts raw or roasted, chopped
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (nutritional yeast works too)
  • 1 egg (or chia or flax seed egg, scroll down to notes for more info)
  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp paprika powder
  • 1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • black pepper to taste

For the tomato sauce

  • 3/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup bell pepper (capsicum, any color), chopped
  • 2 cups tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 cup water
  • sea salt to taste
  • black pepper to taste

Instructions

For the lentil meatballs

  1. Soaking allows the dried beans to absorb water, which shortens cooking time and aids in digestibility. They will nearly triple in size while soaking. Soak most beans in three times their volume of cold water for 6-8 hours before cooking. Cook mung beans until tender (15-30 minutes depending on how long you soaked them). When ready, Allow to cool slightly.
  2. Preheat oven to 400F or 200C.
  3. Combine all ingredients for the meatballs. Slightly mash until lentils/beans fall apart and are resembling minced meat.

  4. With clean hands, form the lentil mixture into 1- inch balls (you can use a tablespoon to portion) and arrange them, ½ inch apart, on a parchment-lined baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes in preheated oven or until nicely browned.
  6. Meanwhile, make tomato sauce and zucchini pasta.

For tomato sauce

  1. In a skillet or pot, heat cooking oil over medium-high heat. Saute onions for 2-3 minutes, then add garlic and bell pepper and cook until softened. Stir regularly.
  2. Add tomatoes, bay leaf, rosemary, and water. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Stir, cover and cook until halved. About 15 minutes. Stir regularly.
  3. Allow to cool and blend until smooth. Adjust seasoning if needed.

For the pasta

  1. In a skillet or wok, heat cooking oil over medium heat. Add spiralized zucchini and cook until softened and heated through.
  2. Serve with tomato sauce and lentil meatballs.

Recipe Notes

Flax seed egg

1 tablespoon flax seed + 2.5 to 3 tablespoons water = 1 egg
Mix well and let sit for 5 minutes or until thick, creamy, and egg-like.

Chia seed egg

1 tablespoon chia seeds + 1/3 cup water = 1 egg
Mix well and let sit for 15 minutes.

Enjoy your meal and until next time!


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

I am on a vegan diet which is a trial for 3-4 weeks. Wanted to test it for myself to see the health benefits many vegans have mentioned in the vegan community. I'm already seeing some changes in consistency of my energy throughout the day and how much lighter my body and mood feel.
Thank you for your post, will definitely try this out. I will need to find more recipes to keep me interested for these 4 weeks :D

My pleasure! I hope you enjoy this dish as much as we did! Def a keeper ;-) There are so many yummy vegan recipes. We are flexitarians, meaning we still eat meat or fish but only in 2-3 meals a week. Going the plant-based way has helped my hubby and I get over our health issues. I lowered my inherited cholesterol levels and improved my heart rhythm disorder and my hubby has been successfully off his weekly multiple sclerosis injections for a few years now and hasn't had a single flare-up since. Keep up the good work - Saving animals, the climate, and your own body!

I would really like to try these one day.

Always welcome at our dinner table ;-)

I love spiralising and this recipe looks ace!!

Same here! We hardly eat any normal pasta anymore!

That last photo is awesome!

Man, I've missed your dishes.

Finally posted another recipe myself today.

Keep up the excellent work!

FYI - I've missed them because I've been busy and haven't been dropping by.

My apologies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61852.16
ETH 2402.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60