Homemade Harissa or Chili Paste For The Spicy Food Lovers

in #food7 years ago

Harissa-1.jpg

Are you a spicy food lover? Then today's recipe is for you. Forget about the commercially bought msg and chemical-laden chili sauces or pastes and give this recipe a try. It is super easy and quick to make. Once you'll try homemade harissa or chili paste, I'm sure you'll never turn back.

As with all homemade foods, the taste is just so much better and you exactly know what's in there and where it came from. And the best part you can tweak it to your spiciness level. If you want more heat use Thai chili peppers. If you are just fine with a less spicy variation, but still very hot, use normal red chili peppers.

Are you ready to learn how to make this Asian staple food? Here we go!

Ingredients

2.5 cups (about 200-230 gram) chopped red chili peppers
1 medium head of garlic, peeled (about 8-9 cloves)
4-5 inch fresh ginger (approx the same amount as the garlic)
1-inch fresh turmeric root or 1 tsp turmeric powder
¼ cup apple cider vinegar (ACV)
1-1.5 tbsp raw palm sugar
Sea salt to taste (or fish sauce for non-vegans)

FYI: if you like your chili paste very hot substitute a part (or all) of the pepper with the small Thai chili peppers. But that's just too hot for me. My hubby loves it!

DSCF0012.JPG

Instructions

  1. Add peppers, garlic, ginger, turmeric, and ACV in a food processor or blender. Process until smooth paste-like consistency.
  2. Heat cooking oil over medium heat in a saucepan or cooking pot. Add the paste and bring to a gentle simmer.
  3. When simmering, add raw palm sugar and sea salt (or fish sauce) and stir until incorporated. Simmer the paste for 5 to 10 minutes. Stir regularly so the paste doesn't burn.
  4. Allow the paste to cool and add to a clean jar with lid. The paste can be kept in the fridge for at least one month, even two.

FYI: for extra flavor, you could also roast the peppers and blend them into a paste. Up to you.

DSCF0014.JPG

DSCF0023.JPG

DSCF0030.JPG

Ohh if you need a good sinus opener, put your head just above the saucepan or cooking pot when it is cooling and take a deep inhale. It works, believe me!!!

Have a great day!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1 AND OUKITEL PHONE C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

I'm always looking for new ways to use some of the peppers I have in my garden. I have chili peppers, habernero and jalapeno that I could use here- great recipe- thanks

Will taste even better with homegrown ;) Thanks for your comment @goldendawne!

I love spicy food !! Definitely going to give this a go

Heya fellow spicy food lover! You won't regret trying this. So much better than what you find in the stores. Have a great day!

Nothing in stores taste as good as homemade . Cheers 🍻

Couldn't agree more!

I'll definitely try this @amy-goodrich. I'm also a spicy food lover. Specially when eating seafoods, i prefer it spicy. Followed you also coz I've seen more of my faves piñacoda & super foods, lol

Thx

Thanks @joville! You won't regret trying this. Makes eating spicy food so much easier.

love Harrisa! Especially with eggs, so good :) Up-voted!!

Ohh never tried it with eggs, but then I have never been a huge egg eater. Thanks for the tip @nickoskitchen!

Wow!!! It's nice, we have harissa in Morocco, always I prepared at home and i added the oil for stay a long time.
Thank you gor recipe I enjoyed it.

I love Morrocan food and the sweets and mint tea. My best friend in Belgium from when I was a small kid is Morrocon and her mom always made the most amazing food. Thanks for stopping by ;)

Yes the Moroccan food really the best., and healthy.

Ohhh yes!!! I'm a spicy food lover to the core. Thanks for this recipe - can't wait to try it! Hot hot hot!! Resteemed!

Hehe! I'm sure you'll like it! Thanks for your support @jaymorebeet!

Good food and flavour with technique.

Thanks @face2face! A lot of flavor it is ;)

This looks a lot like the chilli sauce usually serve with the Hainanese Chicken Rice. Did you have that before?

I am the Great Cornholio! Would you like to see my portfolio? I have a portfolio in my bunghole, with my óleo!

Never heard of that dish. Is it typical dish in Singapore?

It is although it's called Hainanese. Let me search some info for you tonight. It's quite sinful unhealthy but i guess everything in moderation 😎

What a surprise? Not surprise it's on Wikipedia.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hainanese_chicken_rice
Surprise at the details include some bit of preparation but nothing beats a good sinful recipe which I think this one is.
http://steamykitchen.com/5068-hainanese-chicken-rice.html
This one is good for the two sauces: chilli and ginger.
http://www.noobcook.com/hainanese-chicken-rice/2/

Looks good! Don;t eat meat (or at least not very often)! That might be the reason I do not know this sone. Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome. I try not to eat this dish too often too but I have to crave for it once a while

Like you said... moderation is key ;)

I just love my food to be spicy @amy-goodrich! We eat a lot of chili in Mauritius too! Your chili paste looks amazing and lovely color too!

And it's super healthy too. Bring on the heat! Have a great day @progressivechef!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51