Green Smoothie Of The Day: Tropical Red Beet, Broccoli Smoothie With Jackfruit From The Garden

in #food7 years ago

DSCF2753.JPG

Smoothie time on my side of the world. Happy Wednesday my lovely steemit community. Only 3 weeks till our trip to Europe to meet up with family and friends. Getting really excited here. I haven't seen my parents in 9 to 10 months and can't wait to give them a big hug for all the effort they are making to grow and eat more vegetables.

And the fresh berries.... oh man I cannot tell you how thrilled I am to make a smoothie with fresh berries.... and when we arrive it is the grape season in the little town I came from. It only lasts for a month or two and we arrive just at the beginning of the season. Yippee....

Though I love the tropical fruit here, I really miss my berries and juicy pears and peaches. Sometimes you can find them here but the taste is not the same and they are super expensive. Kinda like the pineapples and mangos in Europe.... it's just not the same.

Have you ever heard about jackfruit before?


But enough about berries, it only makes me crave them more hehe... let's talk another tropical inspired green smoothie. This time I made one with jackfruit straight from the garden. If you don't know what jackfruit is here's a picture from when it was still on the tree:

DSCF1182.JPG

As you can see big fruits and our freezer is packed with them.

Jackfruit contains a high amount of nutrients like vitamins, minerals, electrolytes, phytonutrients, carbohydrates, fiber, healthy fats, and proteins. Jackfruit is a good source of calories but contains no cholesterol or saturated fats.

Though I haven't tried it yet, many people use jackfruit as a meat replacement. Apparently, you can make it resemble pulled meat.... an experiment with that coming up ;)

Ingredients (serves 2-3)


1 cup bok choy
1 cup broccoli florets
2 cups mixed tropical fruit (I used frozen jackfruit, banana, and pineapple)
2-3 cups water
1/2 avocado
1/2 small raw red beet
2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
optional topping: chia seeds and hemp hearts

DSCF2743-1.jpg

Directions


  1. Place greens and water in a blender. Blend until smooth.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and blend again. If you have a high-speed blender you can throw everything on at once.
  3. Top with your fav toppings if you like. We used hemp hearts and chia seeds.

DSCF2746.JPG

DSCF2750.JPG

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Sort:  

I really love the idea of how big those Jackfruits get. I still have never tried one. I need to go and try one to see if I like it so I can get going with the planting lol. The smoothie looks and sounds amazing. :)

I'm sure they will grow just fine in your climate too. Not sure how long it takes before they bear fruit though. It's a big tree.

Yeah they grow here for sure. One of my friends Dad actually has one that has no fruits yet because it is young but I know that they are locally grown here also. I love trying new fruits and vegetables. So exciting to me lol.

I hear you! Nothing better than a fruit and veggie tasting.

Jackfruit. Looks like something I​ might find in... No, not in Sweden.

Haha.... I don't think it grows well in Sweden. But you are always welcome to come and try it out here ;)

Wow! Your garden must be the real garden of eden good stuff

I'm feeling blessed every day to live in this tropical climate with an abundance of fresh food growing everywhere. Thanks for stopping by ;)

Looking forward to more of your sharing.....thank you.

Great post YUM!!

What are hemp hearts?

Jackfruit is an incredible meat replacement. I just used green jackfruit to make vegetarian "carnitas". The texture is amazing.

Mixed and broken hemp seeds. So delicious. They have a spicy, nutty flavor. I sound give jackfruit "meat" a try... that's for sure!

OMG I love beet roots ;)) SO healthy :)) My dear thank you. From her I would like to send big hugs for your parents and kisses for you. I am so exited for your trip ;))) I am preparing for my big changing in my life - more details will come soon ;))) . XOXO

Looking forward to hearing more! Change is always good!

Another trip to the grocery store tomorrow , looks so good

Hehe! Thanks beautiful. Great to nourish your body after everything it went through! Hope the wound is healing well. My brother's girlfriend had 3 beautiful kids, all born with a c-section too.

Recovering very slowely but surely. And it's just the temporary time of pain

Love love love jackfruit!

It's hard to find fresh one where I live in Canada. The canned ones are just too sweet and not really tasting like jackfruit much 😅😅😅

Love the smoothie!!

Nothing tastes better than the real thing straight from the tree! I bet those canned variations don't taste like the fruit at all. Have a lovely day ;)

Thanks @amy-goodrich ! Have a great night!🌱

This jackfruit, bananas , raw beet roots, pineapple,smoothie is an easy and healthy drink. It is a very good way to include many vitamins, fiber and minerals in your diet, with very little calories.
I like to make smoothie especially in the morning, to give me energy.
Have a happy day my dear.

Our favorite morning drink too ;) So good for you indeed. Do they grow jackfruit in Mauritius?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44