EASY LUNCH IDEA: Minty Lime Bulgur Pilaf

in #food7 years ago

DSCF0124.JPG

This hearty bulgur pilaf is bursting with flavor coming from the fresh parsley and mint. It is so quick to prepare and makes a perfect lunch salad to take to work. Make a bigger batch and you'll have a yummy and healthy lunch for a few days.

To keep things interesting while prepping this salad for the week ahead, add different types of veggies so you are not eating the same lunch every day! Carrots, red beets, kale, radish are just a few other examples that would taste great in this lunch salad.

If you have never heard of bulgur (aka cracked wheat) before, it is as tasty as the more popular quinoa and cheaper too. Win-win if you ask me. Though this whole grain is not suitable for gluten-intolerant people, it is naturally in high-fiber and low in fat and calories. Furthermore, bulgur is an excellent source of essential minerals such as manganese, magnesium, and iron, plus it’s a good source of plant-based protein.

And what's more, bulgur is a very good source of dietary fiber improve digestive and heart health. One single cup provides 25 percent of your daily need.

Minty Bulgur Pilaf


Ingredients (serves 2)


½ cup uncooked bulgur
1 cup cucumber, chopped
1/4 cup spring onion, finely chopped
1/4-1/2 cup freshly chopped mint
1/4-1/2 cup freshly chopped parsley
1 cup tomato, chopped
1 tsp lime zest
Juice of 1 lime
3 tbsp olive oil
1 clove of garlic, minced
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions


  1. Cook the bulgur according to the instructions on the package. Allow to cool.
  2. Meanwhile, combine olive oil, lime zest, lime juice, garlic, salt and pepper in a small bowl. Wish to combine. Set aside.
  3. When the bulgur is cold, add the veggies and dressing. Stir well and divide over bowls or plates.

DSCF0126.JPG

Have a lovely weekend!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

I'm going to give this a try , easy eat at college

It sure is and you can make it for a few days ahead. Yummy, easy-to-take, healthy school lunch. Have a beautiful weekend my friend ;)

oooh if only there's mint in my country i'll definitely try this one..

Great!

It is super easy to grow. It does well in pots both in and outdoors. Thanks for stopping by ;)

What a great dish my friend! When i read your post, I find myself in safe hands, giving me a range of natural and healthy recipes that keep us safe.

Ohh you are always so kind. Ever since my hubby was able to get rid of his medication for MS and let the food be his medicine we have been on a mission to spread the knowledge and hopefully inspire other people to live a healthy life to prevent, manage or cure disease. Have a beautiful Sunday my dear friend.

I was really stunned to see this. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome. Thanks for stopping by ;)

Easy, quick and tasty :) That is the way of cooking that I am loving. Thank you for publishing this recipe!

My kind of recipe too ;) Thanks for your lovely comment @ergeko

Oh, this looks really fresh! It reminds me a bit of cold couscous actually.

I think an addition of avocado would do great too.

That would surely be a great addition. We love avocados. Thanks for your comment @sjennon!

I sure do! I must confess that I just had pizza and just or avocado on it. It was actually surprisingly good!

That's a great idea... avocado does indeed make everything better hehe. have a lovely week.

Ok, really really thank you so much for this! I'm veg too, and I loved this.
I'm just going to try it. Send you a hug! :) ❤

Aww thanks... sending one right back at you ღ

Amy! I bought mint on Saturday and forgot about it until now (I know we've talked about mint before!) I don't have any bulgur but this makes my creativity turn ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54