Creamy Broccoli Soup With Homemade Pesto Rye Croutons

in #food7 years ago

DSCF4838.JPG

Today's green smoothie recipe is a hot one. Since I'm experimenting with intermitted fasting there is no breakfast for me today but I made this delicious green soup yesterday for lunch! And oh man, those croutons were a success. Though I'm not gonna go into details about intermitted fasting just yet since there are 3 different ways to do it and I'll be the genuine pig to test them out before reporting to you.

But what I already can say, in a world where foods are so abundant it doesn't hurt to give your body a break once in a while. Over the years we have learned to eat, eat, and eat. The fattier and unhealthy the better it seems... and commercial are not helping.

We live in a fat and disease promoting world. Are you ready for a change?


Though some doctors are starting to prescribe veggies and fruits to their patients, most of us are still living on the typical standard American or Western diet high in processed convenience foods. I get it though! We are all so busy and trying to make most out of our lives and those convenient foods and tv dinner are so easy.

But they are ruining your health. Cooking healthy, fresh foods isn't so much more work. You can whip up so many plant-based healthy dishes in less than 30 minutes. It is just a matter of turning healthy foods into a habit...and according to experts making something a habit takes about 3 weeks. So why not give healthy foods a try for 3 weeks and be amazed what it does to your body. I'm sure you'll never go back to the processed crap.

Home-cooked foods taste so great and the promote health...

DSCF4842-1.jpg

Ingredients


For the pesto croutons

Thick cubed bread slices, we use rye bread
1 cup fresh basil leaves
1 cup fresh parsley
1/3-1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup roasted cashew nuts
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

FYI: this made more than we needed but you can use it to make a pasta pesto or why not try the pesto potato salad I shared earlier?

Vegan-Pesto-Potato-Salad-2.jpg

For the soup (serves 3 to 4 for lunch)

1 cup chopped
3 cloves of garlic
1 cup carrot
5 cups chopped broccoli florets and stem
1.5 liter or 50 fl oz vegetable stock
Sea salt and black pepper to taste
1/3-1/2 cup fresh chopped chives

Directions


  1. Saute all the vegetable for the soup for a few minutes to add more flavor. Add vegetable stock and cook for 20 to 30 minutes. Blend the soup in a blender or use an immersion blender instead.
  2. Meanwhile, make the pesto croutons. Preheat the oven to 400°F or 200°C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or use a silicone mat.
  3. Add the pesto ingredients to a blender or food processor. Blend until combined.
    Add the diced bread to a medium sized bowl and mix with some of the pesto until all of the bread is coated. Transfer bread to the baking sheet and bake until crispy. This will take about 10 to 12 minutes, flipping once.
    Ladle the soup into bowls and top with croutons and fresh chives.

DSCF4826.JPG

DSCF4830.JPG

DSCF4831.JPG

DSCF4834.JPG

DSCF4839.JPG

Bon Appétit

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1 AND OUKITEL PHONE C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Getting more greens into your diet is a great way to better your health. I wish more people would just realize that so many health problems are a result of the crap that they eat. Processed foods and refined sugars have done so much health damage to society.

I couldn't have said it any better! Totally agree! let's spread the healthy lifestyle word togheter ;)

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

I am sold. I want some!

Always welcome here ;)

Great. I will be over tomorrow? LOL

Hehe! That sounds great!

It is so true - our food today is not what it once was with GMOs and antibiotic laden animals supplying us with our meats and milk. Your soup looks absolutely delicious and the toasted rye croutons was the perfect added touch. I'm going to check out some of your other posts as well. Here's to good health!

Aww thanks @lifewithlinda! I'm glad you like it and I'm always happy to spread the health, clean food vibes. We live in a money-greedy sad world that puts profits before people... but I have the feeling the world isn't lost just yet1 Keep sporeading he word and maybe we'll have an epedemic of health one day ;) Aww, thanks @lifewithlinda! I'm glad you like it and I'm always happy to spread the healthy, clean food vibes. We live in a money-greedy sad world that puts profits before people... but I have the feeling the world isn't lost just yet1 Keep spreading the word and maybe we'll have an epidemic of health one day ;)

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

I so like how you made the pesto croutons! Yes, I realize all the bad food we consume. Your soup looks so refreshing and healthy. You are inspiring me. I make a lot of soups. This looks good! Have a wonderful evening. Tess :)

Thanks @tesscooks4u! I'm glad my recipes are inspiring you. love your cooking too ;0

This is going on the menu this week - so simple, even I could make it ;)

hehe! Very easy indeed. can't go wrong! Thanks for your ongoing support ;)

Yummy great idea with the croutons and pesto

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Those pesto croutons = genius!! Soup looks so clean and delicious and vibrant! (How it probably makes you feel!) resteemed!

Thanks @jaymorebeet! I can def recommend those croutons... they were so good!

This is awesome. All the ingredient is my favorite. :D @amy-goodrich

Great! I'm such a broccoli lover too! have a great day @bontonstory!

very nice post

That sounds really nice! Thanks for sharing :) Have resteemed...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79