Buckwheat Salad With Red Beet and Apple Drizzled with Ginger Sesame Dressing

in #food7 years ago

buckwheat-salad-3.jpg

The other day I made a lunch salad using one of my favorite pseudo-grains, buckwheat. If you have never heard of buckwheat allow me to enlighten you about this wonderful product.

Buckwheat is thought by many to be a grain, but would you know it’s actually a fruit seed related to rhubarb and sorrel? Of course, the word “wheat” in “buckwheat” makes people think that it is a type of wheat. But just as the more hyped quinoa, buckwheat is what they call a pseudo-cereal super-seed that is often confused with being a grain because of the grain-like way it is cooked.

Buckwheat is naturally gluten-free, has a low Glycemic Index (GI) and is alkaline forming. It can be cooked as a porridge or as a rice substitute. Or sometimes it is turned into pasta or noodles. Think soba noodles. They are made of buckwheat too.

1 cup of cooked buckwheat provides 34% of our daily need of manganese, 28% of copper, 21% of magnesium, 18% of fiber, 17% of phosphorus, and 11% complete protein. Furthermore, buckwheat contains two flavonoids with significant health-promoting properties, rutin, and quercetin. The protein in buckwheat is a high-quality protein, containing all 9 essential amino acids.

Unlike most other grains or pseudo-cereals, buckwheat has a strong, unique, nutty flavor. Almost like darkly toasted bread or a hoppy beer.

buckwheat-salad-4.jpg

Buckwheat Salad With Red Beet and Apple Drizzled with Ginger Sesame Dressing


Ingredients


1 cup red beet, cut into matchsticks
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1 cup red cabbage, shredded
1/2 apple, cut into matchsticks
1 cup cooked buckwheat
1/4-1/3 cup pomegranate seeds
2-3 cups salad greens of your choice
For the ginger sesame dressing


1-inch grated ginger, or more to taste
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 clove of garlic
1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp water
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp olive oil

buckwheat-salad-2.jpg

Directions


  1. In a small blender combine all dressing ingredients and process until smooth.
  2. Combine all salad ingredients in a bowl. Divide over serving bowls or plates and drizzle with ginger sesame dressing.

buckwheat-salad-1.jpg

buckwheat-salad-5.jpg

Have a lovely weekend ;)

signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing.

My pleasure! have a lovely new week @vegawesome.


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Interesting, I always thought buckwheat was a wheat-like plant. I don't think I've ever tried it before, but this looks like a great salad with the apples and beets, very colorful

Thanks @jeffjagoe! Buckwheat is a must try if you ask me ;) We love it for its unique flavor. And it's cheaper than quinoa and can be used in the same way ;)

Sounds delicious!

I love ginger :))

Same here. Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

It's good stuff! :))

You are welcome. Thx and you enjoy as well!! Work tomorrow for me but off Monday and Tuesday. Yay!

I haven't eaten buckwheat in such a long time. For a while, I was following the blood type diet and for my blood type, buckwheat is on the no list. It is so tasty, though. As always, mouthwatering good :)

Hmm we love it too. How did the blood type diet go? Never been a huge fan or believer of it.

I did it a long time ago. At the time, I had cancer and my brother is an alternative oriented physician in Germany and recommended it for me to follow. In the end, I find all diets with too many specifics too stressful. Also, they kept developing further and changed things and, and, and. But some things kind of stuck with me - like not eating buckwheat...

Where you able to cure cancer with alternative therapies? Always eager to hear stories about people fighting the disease with other treatments than chemo and radiotherapy. Hope you are all well now. Big hug coming your way ;)

yes and no. when I had the cancer, I did the surgery and on the advice of my homeopath, chemo as well. Not fun at all!! Later, 10 years after the diagnosis, my husband was diagnosed with prostate cancer and we did the Gerson Therapy. I had a complete chemo revisit (even though I felt terrible, it was a great cleanse and to know that all that crap is out of my body felt great!) and my husband did really well on Gerson. But he went back to his old habits. We see what the future is going to hold for us.... Can't force anybody to do things they don't want to do.

Thanks for sharing! I helped one of my best friends through his chemo and it is no fun indeed. Happy that you both are alright and the food is important but like you said you can't push people into doing things they don't like.... step-by-step sneaking healthy changes to our life is how we did it. My hubby loves health food now and is determined to not let MS control his life. Doing well without any meds :0 Have a blessed day!

What I've enjoyed most, though, is meeting people who have a real interest in food and sharing ideas with them.
Good food is a global thing and I find that there is always something new and amazing to learn - I love it!
Food brings people together on many different levels.
It's nourishment of the soul and body; it's truly love.
Cooking is all about people. Food is maybe the only universal thing that really has the power to bring everyone together.
No matter what culture, everywhere around the world, people get together to eat.

Good Post Dear
Keep it up

Food defintely brings people togheter. Hehe. Thanks for stopping by @smileplease

This looks such a refreshing bowl of salad my friend with a wonderful dressing! Love it!

Thanks my friend! Glad you like it!

For a moment I thought it had octopus in it! :)

Much prefer a vegan salad though!

Yikes no octopus in my kitchen hehe ;) Have a lovely week.

Today another great dish! My favorite salad with red beet and apple, it looks so yummy my friend, i hope one day to meet you to enjoy your healthy food.
Have a great day.

My sure we will meet one day ;) You too have a great day!

Looks really delicious! Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks my friend. Love buckwheat.

You are welcome! Me too to my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79