🍔 🍍Black Bean & Millet Burgers with Pineapple Guacamole, Herbed Potato Cubes, and Arugula Salad 🍔🍍

in #food7 years ago

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-12.jpg

Happy #VeganWednesday! Though the challenge is on hold as the gorgeous @heart-to-heart is traveling and hopefully having an amazing time., despite the $400 fine she got for being a healthy vegan and smuggling cherry tomatoes into NZ.

Today, however, I want to thank another very special steemit lady, @babettxx, for being the inspiration for this yummy Vegan Wednesday meal.

When you visit her blog there is one ingredient that always seems to pop out. MILLET. I had heard of it before but never paid much attention to this ancient whole (pseudo)grain, until she entered my life.

Ever since I have been on a mission to get my hands on millet. No luck in Cambodia but on my recent trip to Europe I finally found some... Hooray!

I bought two packages and these burgers were the first experiment. While I must admit, it has a little less flavor than quinoa or buckwheat, but it was still yum and a super nice variation to the grains we use more often.

Thanks again @babettxx for introducing me to this wonderful, whole product. From now on, it will be a lovely addition to our plant-based life.

🍔 🍍Black Bean & Millet Burgers with Pineapple Guacamole, Herbed Potato Cubes, and Arugula Salad 🍔🍍


Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-14.jpg

Don't let the long list of ingredients overwhelm you. The burgers are actually fairly easy to make. Though you will make a mess in the kitchen. At least I did.

Ingredients (serves 3, makes two patties each)


For the burgers


1/2 cup onion, roughly chopped
3 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
1 cup bell pepper (any color), roughly chopped
1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
1 tbsp soy sauce or tamari
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tbsp lime juice
1.5 cup cooked black beans, drained (½ cup dried = 1.5 cups cooked = 1 15 oz can drained)
1 cup cooked millet (1 cup uncooked millet = 3-3.5 cups cooked millet)

Herb mix

1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp allspice
1 tsp chili powder (optional)
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-1.jpg

For the potato cubes


3 to 4 cups potato cubes (FYI: I used a mix of regular and sweet potatoes)
1.5 tsp dried oregano
1.5 tsp ground cumin
3/4 to 1 tsp paprika powder
1.5 tsp garlic powder
Sea salt and black pepper to taste
Extra virgin olive oil

For the pineapple guacamole


1 avocado
1 cup fresh Italian basil leaves
1/2 cup pineapple chunks
1/2 cup tomato, chopped
Lime juice to taste
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

For the arugula salad


3 cups arugula or rocket lettuce
1 to 1.5 cup red or purple cabbage
1/2 cup spring onions, finely chopped

Directions


For the sweet potato cubes


  1. Preheat oven to 200C and 400F. Add sweet potatoes and herbs to a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil. Toss to coat and bake for 20-30 minutes.

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-3.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-9.jpg

For the burgers


  1. Cook millet according to the instructions on the package.
  2. Combine onion, garlic and bell pepper in a blender or food processor. process until smooth.
  3. In a skillet, heat cooking oil over medium heat. Fry herb mix, while tossing, until fragrant. This will take about 30 seconds.
  4. Stir in bell pepper and onion mix and cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring regularly. Then add soy sauce, apple cider vinegar, and lime juice. Cook until most of the liquid has evaporated.
  5. When ready, blend/pulse black beans and bell pepper onion reduction. Do not overprocess you still want some texture in the mixture. Add panko and millet and mix/mash using a fork until well combined.
  6. Make small patties out of the mixture and cook in the oven for 10 minutes each side. Let rest for a few minutes to avoid the burger from falling apart. To make them extra crisp, you can cook each patty for about 1 minute per side until nice and golden brown in a skillet with cooking oil.

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-2.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-4.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-5.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-6.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-7.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-8.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-11.jpg

For the pineapple guacamole


  1. Add all ingredients to a blender and process until smooth.

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-10.jpg

For the arugula salad


  1. Combine all salad ingredients in a bowl. Toss to combine.

When burgers and potatoes are ready, serve with the salad and pineapple guacamole.

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-13.jpg

Black-Bean-Millet-Burger-12.jpg

Bon Appétit 😉

signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube

Sort:  

Pineapple guacamole is something different to the usual. I like it :)

It's very refreshing. Definitely worth a try ;) thanks, fo stopping by.

Everything looks delicious! :)

Thanks @annariley! Have a lovely day!

You are welcome! It was busy but good!

Hope your day was great too!

I'm always messy when I attempt veggie burgers, too! This plate of food is calling my name--I think you managed to get almost all of my favorites in one meal. :)

Lol. Messy kitchen are the best.... Wish I could cook this one for you ;)

Amazing post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

Thanks my friend. Glad you like it.

The millet is a great addition to a veggie burger. Your pineapple is such a creative and great idea! I will borrow that one! I enjoy eating a veggie burger with a couple of strips of crispy bacon on top! Great Post.

No bacon for me... never liked it anyway. not even when I was stilling eating meat... yeah I know... must be the only person on the planet that doesn't like the taste and smell of bacon.. hehe. Ohh and I can really recommend adding pineapple... so refreshing. Enjoy and thanks for all the support!

Wow! These great dish! Today you made a vegetarian food, these looks so healthy, and very good for summer, i like this kind of food.
Cheers 🍻.

Thanks, beautiful. It's veggie day in my kitchen every day. Hehe. Give the pineapple guacamole a try with your homemade bread. So yum.

Thank you for mentioning me! I love millet burgers, I added them as a "meat" into my burgers or I just eat them immediately after cooking. Tomorrow I'll be doing guacamole for my sister birthday party so I'll try add some pineaple into it. It must be yummy! Thank you for this recipe dear! :)

How could I make my first millet post without mentioning the millet queen of steemit??? Thanks for stopping by and we loved the pineapple addition... so refreshing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62