Prime Rib Roast - Recipe and Demo

in #food6 years ago

Rib Roast 8.jpg

For Mother’s Day I wanted to prepare a special meal and for me a Prime Rib Roast is a big indulgence but also really expensive. So, when I saw that roasts were on sale this week, I took advantage of the sale and was able to use a coupon that significantly reduced the price to a more manageable rate.

I saw a recipe online that used a compound butter to coat the roast and decided to try the technique. I modified the recipe to better suit my taste. My first suggestion is to use unsalted butter. I want to control how much salt I am using. I use Kosher Salt that is a coarse grind.

Rib Roast 1.jpg

Allow one pound of butter to come to room temperature. In a small bowl combine the butter with the herbs of your choice. I used garlic powder, dried rosemary, dried thyme, dried oregano, salt and pepper. I personally like garlic and rosemary, one tsp each, all other herbs ½ tsp each. I also added one tsp of salt and one tsp of pepper.

Rib Roast 2.jpg

Rib Roast 3.jpg

Take the roast out of the refrigerator 30 minutes before cooking to take the chill off. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Put roast in roasting pan and spread butter mixture all over the meat. Insert meat thermometer.

Rib Roast 4.jpg

Rib Roast 5.jpg

Place roast in oven and cook for 15 minutes at 450 degrees then decrease oven temp to 325 degrees and continue roasting.

Cook until thermometer reads the degree of doneness you want. Remember after you remove the meat, let it rest for at least 20 minutes under aluminum foil.
Rib Roast 6.jpg

The internal temperature of the meat will continue to rise. For me it only rose about 10 degrees during resting and was too rare. I think I may have read the thermometer wrong (I thought it said 120 degrees). So, I popped it back into the oven for another 20 minutes and it was much better. Supposedly a ending temperature after resting between 130-135 degrees is medium rare.

Rib Roast 7.jpg

The final results were really good and were enjoyed by all. The herb butter was flavorful and something I will definitely do again.

Do you have a favorite roast recipe? Let me know.

Copyright 2018 @altportal

Sort:  

Prime rib is on my list to prepare one of these days. I’m usually not intimidated by any cut of meat, except prime rib. Maybe because it’s so so expensive and only the fancy restaurants serve it. Nonetheless I’m going to conquer prime rib one day and it’s gonna be good. Thanks for the inspiration.

Hello my friend @altportal how have you been ?. I've been a little absent from your blog since I've been somewhat busy and I have not had time to review Steemit, but today I'm here as always in your posts. This preparation that you made the day of the real mother that looks exquisite, I love that combination between roast and French fries. The roast I really liked the way you prepared it, it's something different from how I was used to seeing it, its texture looks smooth and it looks crispy on the outside and on the inside it's juicy and soft, the butter by arrba must give it a spectacular flavor . Thank you for this rich recipe that you have shown us. I like that always the recipes you get online and prepare them, change that version and give your personal touch different, that makes your recipes more original. Many greetings, I remain brilliant.

Hey, good to see you @alejo1996 Thanks for stopping by as always!

This recipe in my country is called roasted rib. Its very good!!

that looks amazing!

I like to eat fried meat. I like to eat shish kebab. And drink beer.
I can cook shish kebab. I'll try to cook meat according to your recipe. Thank you for the recipe.P5130464.JPG

That looks good too. Are those pickles? or Squash?

Yes, these are salted cucumbers.

Hello friend how are you, meat mmmmmm it looks delicious for mothers day they gave me a pizza I enjoyed it a lot, I love the recipe it shows that just follow the steps of the recipe the result is very good, Butter is new to me, I like to put some mustard with spices, some potato and baked in addition to some sauce to make juicy

Pizza is good too!

This recipe is very good, I like to use the butter in my meals, it is good to recommend salt, so we would not be increasing the salt that can happen after something salty food, I want to try this but here where I live everything is very expensive from the butter and meat much more in the last months is like this, but when it is achieved I like to place spicies such as pepper, cumin, salt, put some garlic in pasta, a bit of soy sauce, English and even some beer

You are a complete man, since from what I see you can cook and prepare a delicious plate of food, that roasted meat that you made looks very delicious. Greetings and good appetite

My God it made my mouth water, this looks so juicy I like the way the spices look after it is roasted, good this recipe the truth does not need much although it is a little expensive meat that if, for next time I'll do something like that, I really like to roast the meat with some barbecue sauce @altportal

The roasted meat is very healthy and very good, it has many proteins and it is the one that I use after training in the gym

How good are the coupons hehe helps you lower the price of the offer.

A few dollars off per pound.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23