Olive Blossom Honey - Food Blog

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I got stuck on a layover in the Phoenix Airport recently. Okay, let me rephrase that: As a result of an extended layover in Phoenix, I got an opportunity to spend some time in one of the airport gift shops. I hit gold!

Olive Blossom Honey pic.jpg

There was a surprising selection of local honey in the little store. I killed more that a few minutes of waiting time looking at the different types of honey. I finally settle on something that I had never had before Olive Blossom Honey from the Valley Honey Company. I visited the company’s website at www.valleyhoneyco.com and found that they are a family owned business and as a result of decline in farming acreage in Maricopa county, the company has evolved into a migratory beekeeping operation. Which means they transport the bee hives to different geographic locations to pollinate crops.

For example, they transport hives to almond orchards in California and when pollination season is complete bring the hives back to Arizona to complete the honey process. This company keeps the honey in the raw state and does not heat, filter or blend their product.

First look at the honey, I noticed the color which was a dark gold almost brown. The consistency was a medium viscosity, not too thick but not runny. What really surprised me was the taste. I did not know what to expect from olive blossoms. It was so mild. There was no sweet overload that some honeys have and no overpowering blast of floral that is evident in like wildflower honeys. I tried it straight out of the jar and the flavor was suble, definitely honey but with an almost savory aspect.

I could see using this product in cooking proteins like pork or chicken that benefit from a little sweetness without overpowering and making it a honey dish. I did try it in my morning coffee and it was a nice, gentle sweetness.
I highly recommend this honey. It is so good.

Do you have a favorite? Let me know.

Sort:  

Hello friend, I have only tried one type of honey that is the most known in Venezuela so I am not an expert but I would like to experience different flavors. From your experience at the airport, you could buy this honey and try it. That is why you recommend it to us. the certainty that it is very good, I love coffee so I would love to try it with honey, I like to read your publications because I know new things, greetings I hope you are well!

Hello my friend @altportal. When reading everything, be delighted with the characteristics of this honey, it really was worth it for you to stop at the Phoenix airport since you found this fantastic honey. Personally I do not have much experience with the types of honey and I am not very consumed with it, but with the characteristics of this honey you can see marinating a chicken or a meat with this honey to make it a bittersweet type, accompanied with Rice and a good salad mmm would be exquisite. I really like the color of honey is a dark color but as you describe is a mild flavor and not so sweet, thank you for the publication because with you I have learned a lot about the varieties of honey that exist in other countries. Thanks for the support friend and I wanted to comment that a few hours ago I made the publication that I had told you the other day, about the most popular sweet and salty meals consumed during our Holy Week here in Venezuela, and I would like you to come to my blog and watch it to see what you think, I hope you like it and well you know a little more about Venezuela. Greetings friend

I use to have my own honey guy that produced and supplied all my private blends for my snack business production. Using honey cultivated close to where you live is so healthy for you. Looks like a great find!

I see that there are so many varieties of thousand hopefully you could see here in my country frequently, it would be good to put a little to the coffee of that honey, you have to take care of the agaves a lot and place to give good honey

Sir @altportal That is awesome.First look at the honey,the color which was a dark gold almost brown.Honey good for health.your blogs is great.thanks for sharing this post with us.keep up sharing.
best wishes for you @altportal sir. i am your big fan at that day.i like your blogs & always follow you.

I like honey. Your sites are good. Good luck in your work.

Good stotya. I also love honey. We have come the spring and the bees began to wake up.

Honey is very useful for health. Women also use honey for the skin.

I tell you that my two daughters love it. Honey. In my pantry there is never a jar of honey missing

I like honey @altportal. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32