Low Carb German Cheesecake

in #food6 years ago

This recipe is made from the memories of cheesecakes, my family in Germany made when I was a kid. This is not your typical icebox or graham cracker crust cheesecake. This is the real deal converted to a low carb version.
mini-20170506_135734.jpg

Crust:
Beat with a Whisk:
1 Egg
3/4 Cup Softened Unsalted Butter
1/4 Cup Milk
1/2 TSP Lemon Zest
1 TSP Vanilla Extract

Add to:
2 Cups Carbquik Mix
1 1/4 TSP Baking Powder
1/4 TSP Kosher Salt
After the dough is mixed, refrigerate it for at least 30-45 minutes, so that it’s easier to handle.
While the dough is chilling, make the cheese filling.

Cheese Filling:
Mix Together:
15 ounces Ricotta
3 Eggs
1 TSP Lemon Zest
3/4 Cup Erythritol Confectioner’s Sugar
1 TBSP Vanilla Extract

This recipe can either be made in a single, greased, 8 inch Pyrex glass baking dish or (6) small 3-4 inch diameter ramekins.
mini-20170506_113847.jpg
Press the dough into the greased dish (es) of your choice, and then pour in the cheese filling.
mini-20170506_114014.jpg
mini-20170506_114206.jpg
Bake for 45 minutes @ 300⁰ F. Continue with 10 minute increments of baking time, up to an additional 20 minutes to ensure the filling is cooked all the way through. The lower temperature will prevent the crust from burning. The filling can be tested with a toothpick (it shouldn’t be wet). It will also start to split slightly when it’s over baked.
mini-20170506_135716.jpg
As an alternate: Try a lime cheesecake with almond meal crust using Stevia liquid instead.
MAKES 12 SERVINGS: NET CARBS: 3g
Copyright 2018 @altportal

Sort:  

Yes, German cheesecake is much different than what we're used to here in the U.S. It's usually made with Quark which is way too overpriced here. Where do you purchase the carbquick?

you're right about the quark. very expensive. i buy carbquick on amazon.

Mmmm how delicious is this cake my friend @altportal, and even better because it has cheese, I love cheesecake. Here in Vnezuela they make one that is very popular, which is made with white cheese, when I can publish the recipe for you to observe it. They look exquisite, besides that it does not take a lot of work to do it and you do not need many ingredients. Excellent photos, really that you were majestic, as I would like to try one of those, and the good thing is that from that preparation you get several cakes. Good recipe my friend, thanks for sharing it with us, perfect for a snack.

Thanks my friend for the support. I wanted to tell you that I made a publication a few hours ago, about the ten signals that our body sends when we are dehydrated and we do not drink enough water, it is a very interesting topic and I hope you like it. I hope you can observe it, I will feel very excited if you see another of my publications. Thank you very much for the support my friend @altportal.

Friend how are you, in Venezuela today is a free day is celebrated an important date, I did not know that you also prepared pies I love to eat them with a good cup of coffee, I like your recipe does not have such complicated ingredients

Do you know the guava? is a fruit, I posted a very easy recipe of a guava candy

As the informal group of friends goes, I'm already following @thegridzom

Thanks. I love guava, but I try to limit my carbs for dieting purposes.

If you have a diet, be careful

I'm guessing, I could make it with non-low carb ingredients and it would probably turn out okay, right?

you might have to adjust the sweetener and the wet ingredients, but yeah. probably.

Looks delicious! I have never baked Cheese cake, because I thought it is complicated. But it seems nice and easy. Will try it out! Keep up the good work :)

wow it looks like a great cake
it must taste so good
i have to to tell my sister to try it bc i am so bad at kitchen
cheers o/

Thanks for the recipe. I'm also making pies. I'll have to try your recipe.

Its very yummy. Lovely chesse. Delicious. Thanks for sharing

Hmmm delicious . I will try it . Thanks @altportal

Looks yummy! I want to eat:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56552.34
ETH 2332.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35