Indonesian Street food #1 : GUDEG

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Dear, Steemit friends.

There's no reason why I decided to talk about gudeg for my first post but its deliciousness, and how this cuisine has been somewhat like an icon to where it comes from, Yogyakarta.

1200px-Nasi_Gudeg.jpg

Gudeg is made from fresh, young, unripe jackfuit and being cooked by boiling it in a hot coconut milk and palm sugar for hours. The additional spices is added to rich its sweet flavors including galanggal, bay leaves, and teak leaves. The later is what made gudeg has brownish colours as what you've seen above.

Usually, gudeg is served with hard-boiled egg, chicken--both is cooked with the same spices as the jackfuits--krecek; a dried up cow skin (belive me, it's not that terrifying as it sound. It's really good), and white rice. Overall, gudeg taste is sweet. But, krecek give some kind of salty and tender mixture to the plate. It's really one of a kind dish.

Ideally, this dish is made to be enjoyed in the morning. The warm rice and young jackfruits sweetness is what you need to boost up your day. But, somehow, many people prefer to enjoy gudeg in the late night. Some of gudeg restaurant in Yogyakarta just start their day two hours before midnight.

Kuliner-Bangsakoe.jpg

And sold out an hour later.

20160816090707.JPG

Look at those lines of people!

For those who prefer to eat or try gudeg in the early morning, maybe you don't have to go out too far because there are so many gudeg stands spread out in the street.

IMG_0685.JPG

IMG_0679.JPG

Gudeg, is an iconic food. It has been aroud for centuries, giving people happiness with its taste, and became one of the famous dish in Indonesia. Some of my foreigner friends say that gudeg has unique taste and, even though some of them doesn't seems to like it, it really is a new experience.

What traditional dish from your town/country that you will recommend to visitors, especially foreigner? Leave a comment below!

Thank you for stopping by. I hope you enjoy my first real post.
I also encourage you to give me some tips or critics regarding my writing or content.
Have a good day, Steemit friends!

gudeg-yogya-tokomesin.jpg

Sort:  

Looks so yummy, my stomach just made a grumbling noise..

hello again! it's nice too hear from you. And thank you, its really delicious!

When I go to India I will definitely go through the neighborhoods with food and will try everything I'm offered the chef... )))

Haha. Hey @malinamoss good to hear from you. Im from Indonesia, not India :)

UPS... :) The most important thing is not to confuse the country when I go to buy tickets... )))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65