Avocado Gelato | Recreating Instagram Trending Recipes | Does it work? :-)

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Hey guys! So I saw this video on Instagram that made these cute avocado gelato and it seemed too good to pass up. I did some research and also found the recipe, which I will link to. But let me tell you, it was a challenge. But hey at least now I'll have avocado gelato on hand as a healthy treat for a few weeks. Thanks for watching the video, hope you give it a try and put your own spin on it (I would probably sweeten it a bit more next time).

Ingredients:
2 3 oz. Chocolate Bar (melted)
6 ripe Avocados
1 13.5 oz can Coconut Cream
2 T Honey (add more if you want your gelato sweeter)
1 T Lime Juice

Tools:
misc. utensils
blender: https://amzn.to/2qjBPA1
Pyrex Bowl 3 set: https://amzn.to/2RakAgR
All Clad Sauce Pan 3qt: https://amzn.to/2EcNVF6
spatula

Instructions:

Scoop out the middles of six avocdos and wipe the inside of the shells clean.
Melt your chocolate on top of a double boiler on low heat. Pour melted chocolate into the hollowed-out shells and using a spoon make sure every bit is covered. Once the shell is coated set them aside to cool and set.
In a blender, blend the six avocados, coconut cream, honey, and lime. Blend it all together until you’ve got your avocado gelato.
Began to fill each chocolate shell with the avocado gelato. Use an offset spatula to smooth out the gelato. Be sure to save some of this for later! Freeze them for an hour. Take a tablespoon (or a teaspoon if your avocados are on the smaller side) and scoop out a hole for the pit.
Place the filled shells in the freezer to let the gelato and chocolate shell fully set.
Combine the avocado gelato with the leftover melted chocolate. Scoop with tablespoons or teaspoons (whichever size you used to scoop out the gelato). You’ll need two scoops per avocado that you’re making. Add place each half scoop in a parchment paper and let it freeze up (it took mine about an hour). Combine the two halves by gently rubbing the sides to form a sphere. Place a sphere into each avocado half.
Once you know your chocolate and gelato has fully set, use a spoon to scoop out the chocolate shell from the avocado peel and enjoy!

Sort:  

Greetings, dear Lydia

Missing. Well cool your tutorial on the avocado ice cream. In addition to learning from your video how to make this recipe, I learned one more word in English. Funny that I looked at the picture and knew I discovered how to write "abacate" in English. I did not remember the name of the fruit in Portuguese. I had to write in English on google translator to appear and Portuguese for me hahaha.

Thank you and good morning!!!!!

abacate!!! lol yeah thats cool you get to learn how to make food and learn English its a win win for Juliano! :-)

I love the avocado is very rich in nutrients and is also very versatile to prepare different dishes @alphasteem

Yes :-) ❤️😁 Thanks @yanirauseche

I love avocado ice cream :) Looks fabulous and well make ❤
How many days can be eaten in the refrigerator?

Well you can keep it in the freezer so really a pretty long time if you want :-)

Thanks for watching ykdesign! ❤️

Oh my! This is damn cooooool! This is really coooool haha Fun to watch and eat but not so sure if I would have much patience to do that myself. I love avocado and with chocolate so good also. I used to make a frappe avocado//chocolate and sometimes avocado/peanut butter. This is super cool!

haha. You are so cool! Yeah it looks pretty cool though, you don't have to make the whole thing you can just blend the avocado 🥑 and pour some melted chocolate on it then freeze it then eat it :-) ❤️

Even though it's freezing cold here, I would not say no to some of that!!!

lol! Well you can have it inside by the heater now :-)

good base, I would substitute the sugar with herbal substitutes.

Hello @ketopian thanks for the advice, I've been hearing a lot about keto diet. I just love my sugar too much...lol

it looks super cool : D well done. But I am not really into Avocado so I dont tink I would enjoy it.

But You did an amazing job recreating it :D Love it.

Thanks Sergio! It was a pain though lol... if I did it again I'd definitely be taking a lot of short cuts haha.

Now you probably can take that tips for the next Instagram recipe you try eheheh 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha such a cool idea!!! :) Great job!

haha thanks Mr Chef! 👨‍🍳 kind of thinking to do a mini series of instagram trending recipe vids. Might be a cool little flare to the channel 😁

You are welcome! Yes doing videos on trending topics is a great way to get exposure! :)

fat, carbs, fat, carbs and fat. I mean .... APPROVED! :D

Yes! haha You know whats good 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55