Eating well when you're just too busy

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You know when you come home after a long day at work? And you're so hungry you could eat a horse, but you're also so tired you just want to crash on the couch and be mind-numbingly boring for a couple hours?

Well, apparently the eating-the-first-thing-you-can-grab solution is bad for your health! So I've been trying to eat better, but I'm still not into the cooking late in the evening. My hero is the lady at New Leaf Wellness, who came up with 10 massive freezer slow-cooker meals, and provided the recipes and shopping list for free! A bonafide Knight in Shining Armor!

Now, I'm in Canada so her shopping total is lower than mine, but I definitely benefited from shopping in bulk, which I can't usually do, since it would all go bad before I could eat it. Her meals are also intended to have 6 servings each, so I'm cooking one meal on Sunday and eating leftovers all week. You may think that's gross/monotonous, but seriously, that's how tired I am at the end of the day; also, I'm a creature of habit. Even still, whoever you are, however many mouths you need to feed, this is a fantastic solution to the "what's for supper" riddle! You go shopping once, you do meal prep once, et voila! Ten meals! Or in my case, 10 weeks of meals! Here's six of my stash:
20170621_234139.jpg

Bonus! These recipes are delicious! I've had to change a few ingredients here and there to suit my tastes or accomodate my grocery store's limited seasoning options, but so far, I'm actually excited about eating my supper instead of hankering for that easy bag of chips!

You've got to try out her recipes!!
http://newleafwellness.biz/2016/02/21/10-healthy-crockpot-freezer-meals-in-1-hour/?ref=6

Sort:  

thanks for the AWESOME recipes I just love make ahead slow cooker meals today is my first day on Steemit....im loving it!

thank you for that share! Good meals are a key to health

Absolutely! Any kind of real food is bound to be better for you than easy to grab junk food! Haha

Congratulations @allyoop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! Good for you. I'm so glad you are trying to get healthy. Makes my Mama-heart so happy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89