Sort:  

I leave at least 2 cups a gallon for the next batch but I generally dont measure, I just leave enough to cover the scoby. At the moment I split my mother often as I'm rapidly expanding my brew so just about every brew cycle. After that when it gets more than an inch or two thick I think it off and feed the bottom layers to my birds

Thanks! I often leave my mother to become too thick and I wondered if it effects the flavor.

It will make you brew faster and it'll take up more space in the jar making it so you get less out of your brews but other than that I've not noticed anything. If you let the big yeast globs get out of hand however, that's another story. I sometimes have to strain my kombucha if it becomes too beery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35