SHASHLIKI at home: EASY TO DOsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170716_101434.jpg


Usually, shashlik (meat barbecue) is referred to an outdoor activity in Russia - meetings with friends in parks, forests, river sides and cooking a meat on charcoals. But what to do if you want to eat a shashlik but the outdoor weather doesn't allow this? Say it's rain, or snowing, or abnormal heat, as it's now in California.

I started to cook it at home and after few attempts, I managed to pick a right temperature and time for cooking a real shashlik in a regular oven and my small kitchen helper air fryer.

First of all, you need to prepare a meat.
On my example, it was a pork, but you can choose any kind of meat which you would prefer: it might be a beef (you would need to double time while marinading it), chicken, lamb, pork or turkey.

  1. You should cut your meat in chunks 1x1x0.5in (5x5x3sm), add salt, black pepper and chopped onion. Add any marinade and put aside for 30 min - 2 hours.
    You can use as a marinade:
  • table, apply cider or white/red wine vinegar;
  • tomato juice;
  • sour grape juice;
  • sparkle mineral water;
  • kefir;
  • any citrus juice;
  • sour cream and hot water mix (this an express marinade - you can cut your waiting time at least in 2 times).

For my described attempt I used kefir and orange juice together.

IMG_20170715_205902.jpg

Next step: cooking the meat

  1. Heat your oven to 300F (150C)
  2. put your meat in one layer on a baking sheet and bake 15 min the oven (12 min in the air fryer)

IMG_20170715_210029.jpg

  1. Flip over your meat pieces and increase oven temperature to 400F (200C)
  2. Bake additional 7 minutes in the oven (5 minutes in air fryer) for making beautiful crusty edges.

IMG_20170715_213651.jpg

Setup your dish with traditional tomato chunks, marinated onion and parsley. You can also add any veggies or sauces.

IMG_20170716_101434.jpg

Bon Appetite!



Follow me1_logo_sm.png

Sort:  

This looks incredible! Nice presentation :)

спасибо ;)

That looks really good @allfabeta-- a nice summer meal; I'd probably still try to cook it outside on the grill though. But certainly a good solution for a rainy day!

I invented this way not only for rainy day, but because sometimes I need to cook for only 2 persons.

to open grill, start it and monitor all processes are the huge efforts for only 2 portions. But my Air Fryer can do this task for 15 minutes.

This looks really delicious and the plate presentation is beautiful! It's almost too pretty to eat... almost :D

thank you

Looks yummy...I have to ask...what is an air fryer? I've never heard of that before!

this is a small portable oven.
You can read about here http://ovens.reviewed.com/features/whats-an-airfryer-and-should-i-buy-one

Thanks! I love cooking...although with such a picky eater at home I've given up going to a lot of trouble figuring it's just a stage for now and someday I will be back to cooking. I will definitely check it out!

I always try to find a shortcuts in my everyday cooking routine, that is why I often use an oven - prepare > load > oven cooks it and it's ready for dinner.

I also use a pressure cooker - it cuts cooking time dramatically and i don't need to stay around my range

Nice recipe dear..

pls go through my travel story..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84