VANILLA CUSTARD RECIPE

in #food7 years ago

VANILLA CUSTARD RECIPE

This is a super easy recipe on how to make vanilla custard cream for any cakes, cupcakes or any other desserts. 

This is a perfect recipe to use on the popular Russian Napoleon Cake, but can also be used for Honey Cake also. 



It keeps well in a fridge for several days! 


Ingredients 


6 egg yolks

1.5 lt of milk

360 gr OR 1 3/4 cups of Sugar

1 vanilla pod or 2 tbsp of vanilla extract

200 gr OR 1 Cup of unsalted butter

100 gr or 3/4 cup of plain flour 


Directions 

Step 1 : Separate egg yolks from egg whites. 

Step 2 : In a large bowl, add your egg yolks, sugar and a tiny bit of milk and whisk that together. 

Step 3 : Add sifted flour and mix and then add a bit more milk to loosen the mixture. 

Step 4 : In a large pot add the remaining milk and add your vanilla seeds and pod. Bring the mixture to the boiling point and then turn it off immediately. Take out the vanilla pod.

Step 5 : Add a little bit of the hot mixture into your bowl with eggs and sugar and whisk that quickly. Once its mixed in, add the mixture back into the pot with milk and mix that well.

Step 6 : Cook your custard on medium heat for a while, and keep stirring the mixture all the time. The mixture will start to become thicker. A good way to test is with your wooden spoon. If you go with your finger over the spoon and it doesnt drip away and the line stays, your custard is done. 

Step 7 : Add a tiny bit of butter into your mixture and leave it to cool down completely. This might take several hours, you can place the custard in the fridge, but you will need to bring to room temperature before mixing it with butter, otherwise the cream will split. 

Step 8 : Add butter into your stand mixer and whisk for 5 min until nice and fluffy. Slowly add your custard mixture 1 spoon at a time, and keep adding more once its mixed in on medium speed. 

Step 9 : Place your cream into a jar. It will keep well in a fridge for few days. You can use it on any cakes, as a sauce over desserts, it works well with Russian Napoleon Cake or Honey Cake. 

Watch the video here:

Lots of love,

Alla xoxo

Sort:  

Hello .... i want to know about that cake. What it feels like, if you hit, please tell me. From the picture I see, the cake is a typical cake and favorite food in your country. In my area there is no cake. I really want to eat the cake. Then how the nutrient content in the cake. Thank you, your photo has made me hungry. If I want an order can, is not it?

What about a vegan version?

Mmmmh... how do you find all these ideas ? Thank you for sharing !

i still have 100000 millions of them!!

am also a food lover. will definitely try this.looks absolutely wonderful

OMFG! I love custard... now I know why, its one of my all time fav things to get from rita's during the few summer months we here here in PA

Wait so now what do I do with the bowl of egg whites I have? :|

heheh you can make meringue or macaroons :P

Wow yummy :))

Looks like a very cool recipe to make! Also, looks very tasty!

best food!!

@allasyummyfood
Lots of cooking and preparing food for you lately. I was thinking about who gets to eat all that good food? Must be some happy people who live around you. lol
Don't worry. I not coming over to be a moocher. I live across the big pond. Ha ha
Thank you for showing us. We can know how. You showed us. Video even.
Only on Steemit.

Francis

I have wondered this myself.

hahah yes my family, my neighbours and the security guy downstairs and then all my friends and their work colleagues :D hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63