LATVIAN CHEESE RECIPE!

in #food7 years ago

LATVIAN CHEESE RECIPE!

Today I will show you how to make Janu Cheese - home-made traditional cheese. 

We usually have it for Līgo and Jāņi, it is one of the biggest Latvian celebrations. Celebrated on June 23 & 24, it is two days and a night of food, singing and dancing. 

Traditionally your house would be decorated with flowers, birch, oak, you have to have beer and cheese is made. The night is spent singing, eating, drinking, having a bonfire (and jumping over it to prevent evil spirits and illness) and looking for magical blossoms. 

You can either use store bought Jāņu siers (cheese) or make a home version. This recipe makes 2 cheeses, or you can make 1 large one.

Ingredients
1,5 lt of full fat milk
500 gr of cottage cheese
3 egg yolks
100 gr of unsalted butter
pinch of salt ( to your taste)
pinch of caraway seeds ( to your taste)
cumin ( pinch if you want, to get more yellow colour)

Directions

Step 1 : Pour the milk in a large saucepan and then add the cottage cheese. Heat the mixture on a medium heat stirring frequently.

Step 2: After 5-7 minutes the milk and cheese will separate, creating yellow-green whey. Mix that through and then sieve it over a large bowl.

Step 3: Once it is drained return the mixture to the saucepan. Make sure to keep a little bit of that liquid.

Step 4 : Turn the heat on low and add the butter, then egg yolks,, caraway seeds and salt and combine well. In the video I called caraway seeds - cumin, so ignore that! But you can also add cumin to get the yellower colour.

Step 5 : Heat the mixture for about 7 minutes while constantly stirring. It will become thicker and smoother.

Step 6 : Place the cheesecloth on the flat surface, add your cheese and go around and tighten the cheese. To "tie" the cheese pull the corners of the cloth together and spin them until you get a parcel of cheese. I used a hairband to tighten it.

Step 7 : Place your cheese outside in the cold space or in the fridge to harden. After enjoy your cheese and eat with bread, beer or its own :)

Lots of love, if you want more of me you can Socialize with me through other media.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AllasYummyFood

Instagram: http://instagram.com/allasyummyfood

Pininterest:  http://gb.pinterest.com/allatinn/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/allasyummyfood

Google + : https://plus.google.com/+AllasYummyFood

Snapchat Code : allasyummyfood

Watch the video here:

Alla xox

Sort:  

I feel like eating cheese now.

hahah who doesnt like cheese right!!

It looks delicious :)

It looks so delicious, but I do not know we'll just feel it later.
The ideal form of cheese for cake sizes..
In our area the community likes cheese

good! thank you!!

First comment :) I'm on "watch-mode only" can't really cook but somehow I enjoy reading about these things !

Woo!! up vote for first comment :)

Oh wow, this looks delicious. I definitely have to try this. :)

heheh you totally should ;)

You will probably see from one of my cheese articles that I absolutely love cheese so thank you for this 😀

hehe will have to have a look :) welcome!

I want to try it, because i feel it's delicious :)

I am new here, can you see my post ?if you liked , upvoted resteemed ,followed me .thank you

THIS IS AWESOME. Thank you for sharing this. I really want to try and make the cheese. The part about the fire jumping and beer and singing and eating sounds awesome. This would be me though if I tried to get rid of my evil spirits...

Great post, and glad I am following you. Keep them coming.

hahah oh dear hope that doesnt happen!! lol :D

lol, I hope not as well. Have a great day.

Looks so soft and creamy.
I might have a shot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74