GEORGIAN CHEESE BREAD - HACHAPURI!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Khachapuri (хачапури) is a traditional Georgian bread stuffed with a specific melting cheese known as sulguni from the Samegrelo region of Georgia. Sulguni is an unaged cow's milk cheese that has a slightly sour, moderately salty flavor and an elastic consistency similar to mozzarella or halloumi.

 It can be fresh or smoked and is used in many dishes besides cheese bread. Khachapuri is considered one of Georgia's national dishes and, when Georgia was a Soviet republic, Russians adopted the dish as their own and you will find it at pubs and restaurants. This recipe was posted on my website last week here: https://www.allasyummyfood.com/single-post/2017/01/08/Georgian-Cheese-Bread-Xачапури and here is the video:



For the dough

125 ml Buttermilk ( Kefir) + 125 ml of sour cream

300 gr of plain flour + extra if needed

1/2 tsp of salt

1 tbsp of sugar

1/2 tsp of water

100 gr of unsalted butter


For the filling

350 gr of cheeses ( use traditional if you can, I used dry cottage cheese, sulguni cheese and mozzarella cheese

2 tbsp of sour cream

Pinch of salt

25 gr / 1-2 tbsp of unsalted butter


Directions

Step 1 : Make the dough. Add your buttermilk into a bowl with sour cream. Then add sugar and salt and mix everything together. Then add melted butter and mix again.

Step 2 : Add plain flour a little bit at a time, keep mixing and keep adding flour until its all incorporated. Once the dough has come together, set it aside.

Step 3 : Make the cheese filling. Add all your cheeses ( grated) into a bowl. Then add butter and sour cream with salt. Mix everything well and set aside. 

Step 4 : This recipe makes 4 khachapuri, so divide the dough into 4 balls. Add flour to your surface and stretch the dough with your hands to get a nice round shape. Keep adding flour, because the dough will be very sticky. 

Step 6 : Add 1 large tbsp of your cheese mixture in the middle of each dough and pinch the dough from all sides, to form a ball. Press gently and even the bean filling around the bread, don’t press too hard, or the filling will pop out. 

Step 7 : Once all of them are done, you can either freeze them or cook straight away. 

Step 8 : Preheat your frying pan until its piping hot, do not add any butter or oil and add your khachapuri inside. Cover it with lid and cook for 5 min on each side, until its golden. 

Step 9 : Once its cooked, add butter on top and spread it around, cut into 4 slices and enjoy hot or cold! 

 

Make sure to follow me here :)

Lots of love,

Alla xox


Sort:  

This looks amazing, I actually made something with cheese in it today. I decided to make cheesy garlic croutons to put on a chef salad I made to go with dinner tonight. (We had pork chops, salad and brown rice.)

I actually love to cook, when I lived on a farm I loved making cheese and things like this as well. We even would make our own flour.

Ahh, This is making me hungry ta ta for now!

Oh, I almost forgot, I wrote a poem inspired by your safari trip. :)

ooh that sounds amazing!! :D yummy! I'm so hungry right now!!!! oo great have you seen my cooking channel? xxx

Dude, or dudette if you are all sensative like that..... Annnywayyy.... It was the bomb! Amazing indeed. I had a little help from the Aunt but hey it didn't hurt. This time.

Youtube? Nope, tell you what. Post a link, and I will click on it.. At least give you another follower, but I am not on Youtube very often. :P

EDIT: If you mean your website, I have been on there a few times. I really like the things you post there although most of them are also here on Steemit and I have been digging through your blog and stealing a few recipies! :P

HAHHA yeah website is different :) all my new recipes go here first, then my blog :) Yes its www.youtube.com/allasyummyfood or my Facebook www.facebook.com/allasyummyfood :) Let me know what you think :D

Awesome! I have now followed you on facebook and subscribed to you on youtube. You are welcome, I have accounts for just about every social media platform but I don't really use them that often! :P

We shall now be internet friends for sure. :P I mean, I can't help it with all that amazing cooking, plus you post about animals! I am sold. You got me.

hahahah thats good to know :) happy days! we can def be friends :))

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

OMG! It's my favourite bread )

HAHHA yeah its so bloody good :D

Fantastico as they say here in Chile. Just beautiful and I love the cilantro on top. I will have to add this to my 'recipes to do list.' Thanks so much for sharing!

heheh yeah i love that word!! :D You will love this bread trust me, and so will your family !:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76