EASTER SERIES - RUSSIAN PASKA BREAD RECIPE

in #food6 years ago

Hello everyone, still have no internet, so managing to work through my phone!! Crazy how much you need internet these days, especially for work - like me!! Anyway I wanted to start sharing my EASTER recipes with everyone, as Easter coming so soon and you must make something delicious and yummy :)


This gorgeous Russian Easter bread, or kulich, is a sweet, yeast-risen bread flavoured with raisins and cranberries.A cross between brioche and challah, this bread (called kulich) is a lightly sweetened, egg-glazed cylinder, often baked in special moulds. Paska (паска) bread or Kulich (кулич) bread is a Russian and Ukrainian festive bread baked at Easter, and is traditionally eaten only on Easter Sunday. The kulich would sit proudly in the center of the family Easter basket, surrounded by meats, cheeses, butter, and eggs. It's a central part of the Easter meal.   


This sweet bread has 2 names, it’s called Paska in the southern Russia and Ukraine but it’s called Kulich in central Russia and the rest of Russia. This is not to be confused with another festive Easter dish called Paskha (Пасха), which is made with tvorog (farmer’s cheese). As easy as it may sound and look, rising is the most time consuming part of the making. Since this is a “sweet” bread the sugar and yolks weigh down the rising process, making the rising time go by very slow (even if it’s rising in a very warm place). But don’t fret it’s all worth the labor if you want extremely fluffy results. 


 Ingredients 

 1 cup whole warm milk

4 medium eggs or 3 large, room temp

1 sachet 7 gr of active dry yeast200 gr OR 1 cup sugar 120 gr butter melted½ tsp salt1/4 cup sour cream1 tsp vanilla750 gr OR 5 - 6 cups all-purpose flour ( might require less or more, depends on the flour that you use)1 cup raisins (white or brown)1/4 cup cranberries or blueberries ( optional what you prefer, can use both) 

<>For the Icing

250 gr or icing powder 2-3 tbsp of lemon juice hot water ( optional) 


Directions 

Step 1 : In a stand mixer add eggs, sugar, melted butter, sour cream and warm milk, vanilla extract and then add half of your flour. Mix everything together on low, until everything is combined. Then add yeast and mix everything again. Cover with damp towel and leave in a warm place to prove and raise for about 2-3 hours. 

 Step 2: After first raise, place the dough into the stand mixer and add the rest of the flour. Then add raisins and cranberries and mix everything again. The dough shouldn't be too sticky. Prove the dough for 2 more hours in a warm place. 

Step 3 : Once its proven for the second time, divide your dough into two baking moulds and let is raise again to fill the moulds 3/4 of the way. Once it has risen, bake the bread for about 25-35 min at 180 C / 350 F. Once baked leave them to cool down completely. 

Step 4 : Make your icing, by combining icing sugar and lemon juice and a little bit of hot water. Mix and you can control the consistency of your icing.  Step 5 : Add icing onto your easter bread and then add sprinkles and enjoy! The bread is so yummy and very delicious. 


Alla :) xxx



Sort:  

AJ picked your post @allasyummyfood for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I ate this once and really liked it, thanks for the recipe I will try to make this!

Great captures!

Easter food is like a weight-gain sneak attack! This looks delicious but too many carbs for my body! :(

Out of interest though, what do you call the paper that is wrapped around it? And where did you buy it? Thanks in advance!

Yeah I know, I’m going through weight loss journey myself so hard for me 😢 😭 yeah I ordered them online it’s special paper i forgot what’s it called! Pappeloni or something

Hello @allasyummyfood, what a delicious looking bread! I came here via 'easter' tag as I was searching if anyone else was writing about easter-theme something. (I found almost no such posts :D) but I'm pleased I found you! Are you posting this as a 'series'? Hope so. Look forward to seeing your future posts!

Heya yeah I am!! Glad you found me , I was also thinking that nobody did Easter tag yet and I think it’s time :)

OMGawd! This looks delicious :)' My mother makes something similar but a Mexican recipe. Keep up the great work.

Ooh wow really? Mexican Pasha? Haha would love to see that!

Thank you for the recipe... 😍 thank u so much sharing it..

#i ll make it then

You are welcome :)

That just looks yummy ! I could never get my bread to rise up properly . 🤭🤭🤭

It takes really long time and needs right temperature :)

I would definitely love some ideas for main dishes! I am hosting many vistors this easter and have no idea what to make! But I definitely would love to see more main dish/side recipes...i'll stay updated

Yes I have few amazing main savoury dishes as well :)) stay tuned ;)

Oh no! Not again. Hahahaha wow this is making a whole lot of sense. Looks so yummy. Hmmmm Easter preparations already. I just remembered Easter is so close. This is good mehn. I wish I can have a taste. You just keep making me salivate😋😋😋😋😋

Yeah it’s not far away! You must be ready :)

Yes!!! Lol U're so adorable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37