CREAMCHEESE BUNS - RUSSIAN VATRUSHKI

in #food7 years ago

VATRUSHKI RECIPE - CREAM CHEESE BUNS

A Vatrushka is a Russian/Ukrainian bun that is filled with a filling on the outside.

Vatrushki are sweet Russian pastries made with a yeast dough and filled with cheese filling. Plump, sweet, fragrant vatrushkas are a perfect fit for your holiday table as well as your daily cup of tea. 

When the cheese filling is sweetened, raisins or pieces of other dry or fresh fruits can be added to create a more interesting flavor. 

Occasionally jam, fruit preserves, mashed vegetables, or even ground meat is used as filling instead of cheese although the resulting pastry should not be really called vatrushka.

Ingredients 

250 ml OR 1 Cup of milk
250 gr OR 2.5 cups of plain flour
50 gr OR 1/2 stick of melted butter
2 eggs
100 gr OR 1/2 cup sugar
2 tbsp of sour cream
7 gr 1 pack of dry fast action yeast
2 tsp of oil
0.5 tsp of salt

For the filling

250 gr of farmers cheese/ tvorog - dry cottage cheese / ricotta cheese
250 gr of cream cheese
1 egg
1 tbsp of vanilla extract
2-3 tbsp of sugar
1-2 tbsp of flour
raisins ( optional) 

Directions 

Step 1 : Add your fast action dry yeast into luke warm milk with sugar and mix through. Set aside for 15 min so yeast starts to activate. 
Step 2 : Into a large bowl, add your milk and yeast mixture, eggs, melted butter, sour cream and half the flour. Mix the dough and then add the rest of the flour with salt. Add flour onto your working surface, you have to kneed the dough for a little bit. If its too wet, add a bit more flour. Place the dough back into the bowl, but make sure you add a bit of oil into the bowl. Cover with towel and leave to raise and double in size for an hour or more. This depends on your kitchen and how warm it is. 
Step 3 : Whisk cream cheese, cottage cheese, egg, vanilla, sugar and flour together for the filling. Optionally, you can add raisins to the filling. I used half and half. 
Step 4 : Once your dough has risen, place in onto the floured surface, pinch a small ball and roll into a nice flat shape. Place them onto your baking sheet. Using a cup press unto each dough to create a whole in the middle. Fill each hollow with a filling. Leave to raise for another 30 min. 
Step 5 : Coat your dough with egg wash all around. 
Step 6 : Bake in preheated oven at 180 C/ 350F for about 30 minutes or until golden brown. Enjoy hot or cold with tea or coffee.


Watch the video here

Lots of love,

Alla xox


Sort:  

Hi @allasyummyfood

This is awesome! i have been looking for such a recipe for ages! Thank you

I would like to sliced peaches to this, as a topping. Can it be done?

Thank u soo much for ur work!

Awesome 😍. Reminds me of my childhood as we used to have similar bakery in former GDR. Wonderful memories, can actually taste it . Thanks for that recipe!

you are very welcome :))) glad you enjoyed it!!

You know what, a lot of the time I'd flick through this recipes.. dribble a little from seeing the delicious pictures. But if you didn't know I'm a huge fan of simple foods with CHEESE. This is a recipe I can actually implement and do at the weekend, thanks! I'll come back and update you if I'm successful!

heheh bring it on!!!! :)) cant wait to see it!!

I can't promise, but thank you for sharing. My resolution this year is to take more action and do less talking! ;)

WOW! Look very yummy :)
i will try cook
thank you sharing
i following you

Oh my gooooodness. I might have to attempt this. Looks so good.

heheh yeah you totally should ;)

Was born in Kiew and got russian/ukrainian parents, but never heard of it :D Need to ask my mum for it =)

omg what?!? hahaha really!!

I'm sorry. I will blame my mother :D

Woohooo pastry goodies are my favourite!
Really good looking ones you have there.
I would use brown sugar for the filling, just my humble opinion :D

Thanks for sharing, will copy-paste the recipe into my recipes

hahah its not traditional :P but sounds interesting!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52