High Protein Chili Sin Carne Couscous (vegan)

in #food7 years ago

Hey foodies!

I love quick and easy meals but they still should be on the healthy and nutritious side. Because of that I’m a big fan of couscous and granulated soy. You simply soak them in boiling vegetable stock and in no time at all you end up with a good base for your veggies or other ingredients.

A few weeks ago, I came up with this genius idea to soak the couscous with the granulated soy together. And of course, it works perfectly fine. You end up with high protein couscous. You don’t even notice the soy. But it will help you to stay fuller for longer. It’s the ideal vegan way to sneak in a source of protein into your meal. Let me show you this technique based on this simple recipe!

High Protein Chili Sin Carne Couscous Recipe

18767231_10213097424140122_1470177246_o.jpg

Ingredients (for 4 servings):

  • 240 g couscous
  • 100 g granulated soy
  • 1000 ml vegetable stock
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • 3 gloves of garlic
  • 3 tbsp tomato puree
  • 250 g tomatoes
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 can of kidney beans
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt & pepper

Directions:

  1. Cover the couscous and granulated soy with boiling vegetable stock and leave to simmer for about 15 minutes.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large pan, add the chopped onion and garlic and sauté.
  3. Add the tomato paste, chopped tomatoes, drained corn, drained kidney beans and all the spices (cumin, oregano, paprika and cayenne pepper).
  4. Add the cooked couscous with soy, mix and season with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

Nutritional value (per serving):

Calories 519 kcal
Fat 12.4 g
Protein 28.6 g
Carbs 66.9 g

I hope you enjoyed this recipe!

If so, please don't forget to resteem, upvote and follow me! 😊

Sort:  

Sin Carne couscous👍

You have to come up with new combinations and ideas! ;)

This is my kind of food! High protein, easy and healthy. Thanks for the recipe. I love finding foodies on steemit. You have a new follower :)

Thank you so much for your nice comment @natashahall! So glad that I found you! You have awesome content! :)

Hi Alina, came back from shopping, took the ingredients and I will prepare this dish, cant wait to taste the SIn carne Chili. THANKS !!

That sounds great! How did it turn out? Please let me know! :)

I really like this idea, I also love quick and easy sometimes, although I always seem to find a way to complicate it.

One suggestion, you don't have to listen to it, feel free to ignore it if you like, more pictures of your dish would be nice.

I'm so glad that you liked my idea! :) I was so happy as I saw your comment! :D

You're so right and I will heed your advice to take more pictures. I will work on it. ;)

Thank you for sharing,

You're welcome as always! :)

Tell me who says good food ain't life let me tell them they be wrong..nice one dear. That picture got my stomach rumbling

That's so nice of you to say! Thank you so much! :D

Looks fantastic !

@ch00fy - foodie

Thank you for your nice comment! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72