Pork chops with red cabbage and apple.

in #food6 years ago

IMG_2631.JPG

Tonight's dinner was a bit of an experiment after I picked up a red cabbage from the reduced section at the supermarket.

IMG_2626.JPG

I chopped enough cabbage to fill a pan and added a little water (around 200 ml), 2 bay leaves, a spoon of cinnamon and two spoons of brown sugar. I brought the pan to the boil and added a good glug of red wine then left it to simmer for 30 minutes.

IMG_2630.JPG

Then I chopped up two apples and added them to the red cabbage and left it to cook for another 15 minutes.
Meanwhile I put the pork chops into a gridle pan and covered each one with apple sauce and left them to cook.

IMG_2628.JPG

I did cheat with the mash potatoes as they were from a tub you just microwave. After looking around online for ideas to use the red cabbage on the main thing I read was red cabbage goes great with apples and any pork dishes and after serving, this dish was a winner that I will be looking to cook again.
This is an easy dish to cook and didn't really need the mashed potato, in the UK red cabbage seems to be very underused, mainly only used when pickled but I prefer it now to the more usual green cabbages that seem to be more popular in our cooking.

IMG_2631.JPG

Sort:  

You can never go wrong with pork chops and applesauce. And red cabbage is better than the green stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73