Canada Day Maple Rye Cedar Salmon

in #food8 years ago

  Happy Canada Day friends! I love making flag foods but Canada’s flag isn’t the easiest to render in food. I wish I was a little more adept at it. I’ve been wanting to make Canada Day jello, much like this American flag jello  I made a couple of years back, but maple leaves are hella hard to create in food (I really should just buy a maple leaf cookie cutter). I’ve done my share of strawberry shortcakes, pavlovas , and the such, but this year I thought I’d bring a savory swing to things.

I had to get Mike to show me how to cut out the maple leaf. He used a piece of shrimp cake and I was throughly impressed by his retention of how many points the Canadian flag has (11, in case you’re wondering). I was also impressed because he made a slightly modified version for me that would be more achievable with the flakiness of salmon. 

 

All in all, I think the flag came out great! I put it on a bed of mashed Yukon gold potatoes – the greatest export Canada has, along with Canadian rye and maple syrup.
 

 Feeling so fresh and patriotic this year!
 

 xoxo steph

and i take this from  http://iamafoodblog.com/canada-day-maple-rye-cedar-salmon/ :D hope you like it
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49